Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   
MONTOUR COUNTY, PA BIOGRAPHIES

BLOOMSBURG

From "The History of Columbia and Mountour Counties"
Battle, 1887


 
CHARLES GILLESPIE BARKLEY, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, is a native of that place, born January 30, 1839. When young he obtained an academic education, then turned his attention to mechanics and learned the trade of a carriage-maker, serving nearly three years of an apprenticeship with William SLOAN & Son. When his term of apprenticeship was nearly expired, while engaged in the work, he met with an accident which for a time disabled him then returned to educational pursuits and prepared for the work of teaching, in which he engaged in 1857. In May, 1863, he was elected county superintendent of common schools, and in this office, being re-elected in 1866 and 1869, served nine years. He was a member of the first and second town councils of the town of Bloomsburg upon its organization in 1870. By appointment, from time to time, of the superintendent of public instruction, he has been since May, 1874, and still is, a member of the board of trustees of the State normal school of the Sixth District located at Bloomsburg is a member of the F. & A. M. In the First Presbyterian Church of Bloomsburg he has held for some years the position of elder, superintendent of the Sunday-school and member of the board of trustees. In 1860 he entered upon the study of law with Col. John G. FREEZE, and was admitted to practice in September, 1863. Since his retirement from the office of county superintendent, in 1872, he has given his entire attention to his legal profession. He married, June 2, 1864, Margery A. WILSON, a daughter of Samuel Bond WILSON and Margery (STRAWBRIDGE) WILSON, formerly of Washingtonville, Montour Co., Penn. They have three children: Mary Garrison BARKLEY, Josephine Redfield BARKLEY and Jennie Wilson BARKLEY. Mr. BARKLEY is a descendant of the early settlers of this county and State, of Scotch and Irish ancestry. His paternal ancestor, Iddings BARKLEY, born at Churchtown, Lancaster Co, Penn., in 1781, of Scotch parents, married in 1803 Mary JACKSON, a Quakeress, a native of a neighborhood then known as "The Forest," in Robeson Township, Berks Co., Penn. They (Iddings and Mary) lived at Pottsville, Penn., about two years, and in 1806 moved too a house at the "Red Mill" in Hemlock Township, Columbia County, where the present mill house is built; thence too a house where the farm house of James BARTON, deceased, now is, in Montour Township, and from the latter place they moved to Bloomsburg, where he built and lived in the house first erected on the lot now owned and occupied by I. W. HARTMAN. Subsequently he became the owner of the lot at the northeast corner of Second and West Streets, and for many years in a long story and a half frame house which stood on West Streets a few rods back from Second, he lived and carried on the business of a cabinet-maker. Some years prior to his death he built the brick dwelling on the same lot now owned and occupied by K. C. ENT. In this latter house his wife Mary died in 1854, and he in 1857. Iddings BARKLEY was an active and prominent citizen of the early days of the township and county, and held numerous positions of trust, both public and private. His son, John J. BARKLEY, the father of Charles G., married December 18, 1828, Rachel McBRIDE of Hemlock Township, Columbia County. To them six children were born, Charles being the fifth. John J. BARKLEY died July 5, 1876, his wife Rachel having died April 8, preceding, both having lived useful and active lives in much esteem in the county. The maternal grandfather and grandmother of Charles G. BARKLEY, William and Mercy McBRIDE of Irish ancestry, soon after 1800 settled upon a large tract of land, of which he was owner, in Hemlock Township, part of which, where the old buildings formerly stood, is now owned and occupied by Hugh D. McBRIDE, one of their children. William McBRIDE was active and prominent in public and private life, but died a comparatively young man, his widow surviving him to old age. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 321)

BARTON FAMILY. Thomas BARTON was one of three brothers who emigrated from England to America early in the eighteenth century. He settled in Virginia, his brothers in Connecticut. Thomas was married in England to Hannah CLARK, a daughter of Daniel CLARK, and he had ten children: Daniel, Elisha, Theophilus, Roger, Undrel, Thomas, Clark, Amelia, Sarah and Isabella. Amelia was the wife of Abraham McMURTIE and was the only daughter who married; she lived in New Jersey and became the mother of a large family, some of whose descendants are now living in Columbia County. Elisha was born in Virginia June 21, 1742; immigrated to Pennsylvania; in 1766 married Mary SIMONTON in Northampton County, who died leaving one son, Thomas. His second marriage occurred July 10, 1771, with Anna McCARTY, who was born in New Jersey March 20, 1754. Her father came from Ireland, and her mother, Mary PAINE, was a native of New Jersey. Elisha after his second marriage moved from Northampton County to Northumberland County, and from the latter to Columbia County about 1781, and located in the neighborhood of what is now Bloomsburge was a justice of the peace here and a farmer, and built what is known as the "Red Mill," and furnished the lumber gratis for the first Episcopal Church in Bloomsburg. He died September 12, 1816, and his widow January 11, 1823, and both are buried in the Episcopal churchyard. Their children were as follows: Mary, born December 16, 1772, married in November, 1795, to John BOONE, and died November 2, 1796, of hydrophobia; Amelia, born October 2, 1774, died September 15, 1796; Elisha, born September 21, 1777, married March 22, 1806, to Rachel MILLER, died August 26, 1815; Isaiah, born June 21, 1780, married March 1, 1810, to Mary THORNTON, and died April 6, 1842; Hannah, born May 25, 1783, married in January, 1801, to James BOONE, died July 6, 1859, in Genesseo, Ill.; John, born May 10, 1785, married February 15, 1816, to Mary C. DRIEDER, and died May 23, 1856; Anna, born January 6, 1788, married December 13, 1821, to Abraham KLOTZ, died January 30, 1864; Sarah, born May 22, 1790, died September 12, 1796; Caleb, born November 26, 1792; married in 1823; Mary Craig, died December 30, 1863; an infant (deceased); Cyrus, born May 3, 1796, married in December, 1826, to Catherine BREWER, and died March 8, 1862; Betsey, born January 30, 1799, married January 30, 1816, to William ROBISON, died June 9, 1877. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 322)

CALEB BARTON, Bloomsburg, was born August 30, 1812, a son of Isaiah and Mary (THORNTON) BARTON, and a grandson of Elisha and Anna (McCARTY) BARTON. He was reared on the farm of his father, and in February, 1836, married Sarah, daughter of Peter RUPERT, and by this union there were six children: Evelina B., born February 6, 1837, married to Dr. McREYNOLDS; Mary (deceased); Thomas J., born September 28, 1841, married to Henrietta GUILD; Catherine B., born March 10, 1842, married to Alfred ALE (reside in Warsaw, Ind.); Emma B., born May 24, 1844, married too John MOORE (is now a widow and resides in Indiana); Anna B., born September 27, 1846, married to Thomas WEBB, of Bloomsburg. The mother of this family died in September, 1854, and the father married, in February, 1862, Delilah CREVELING, and he and wife now reside at Bloomsburg. Mr. BARTON has followed agricultural pursuits all his life, and still owns a farm one mile from town, on the main road to Catawissa, where he erected a house in 1856, and resided until his coming to Bloomsburg in 1875. The old "white grist mill," owned by his father, is still the property of his descendants, our subject yet owning a share. When Elisha BARTON, the grandfather, first came to the county, he located on the present site of the red mill, which he built, and lived in his wagon until his cabin was erected. Mr. BARTON is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics he is a Republican. The parents of Mrs. BARTON, John and Charity (MOORE) CREVELING, were born, respectively, March 10, 1772, and December 1, 1773. The former was probably a native of this county, his ancestors coming from New Jersey and settling near Espy, this county, at an early date. Mr. and Mrs. CREVELING had ten children: Martha, born February 1, 1799, married to John MELLICK, died December 2, 1853; Margaret, born December 17, 1801, married to Dr. Herman GEARHART; Jonathan, born June 26, 1803, died in 1807; Andrew, born January 22, 1806, married to Ann HENRY; Moore, born May 5, 1808, married to Mary FOWLER, died December 13, 1881; John, born October 22, 1810, married to Sophia ROSEBERRY; Jared, born January 24, 1813, died March 4, 1826; Delilah, born November 4, 1814, married to Caleb BARTON; Nelson, born February 14, 18--, married to Phebe ECK. Mr. and Mrs. CREVELING died, respectively, August 27, 1827, and July 12, 1858, and are buried in Afton Cemetery near Espy, this county, formerly known as the CREVELING burying-ground. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 322)

MRS. MELVINA BARTON, a daughter of Daniel SNYDER, and widow of Elisha C. BARTON, was born July 8, 1818, in Bloomsburg. Elisha C. BARTON was born in 1816 and was for several years a merchant with Leonard RUPERT at Bloomsburg. He owned and operated a furnace at Paxinos, in Northumberland County, for six years, and later, while living at Lewisburg, owned and operated a furnace at Dry Valley. He died at Mt. Carmel, Penn., in 1878, leaving two children: Mary A., married to Jefferson M. John, of Shamokin, who died in 1877. He was a coal operator; read law at Sunbury, was admitted to the bar of that city, and practiced at Mt. Carmel. His two children are Helen and Barton. The second child of Mr. and Mrs. BARTON is Matilda, who married Sanderson LAZARUS. Elisha BARTON was a stanch Republican, and himself and family early identified themselves with the Episcopal Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 322)

D. A. BECKLEY, superintendent of public schools, Bloomsburg, is a native of Mifflinburg, Union County, Penn., born December 25, 1833, a son of Benjamin and Barbara (STEES) BECKLEY, the former of whom was long a merchant at Mifflinburg. Our subject obtained his early education in the academy of his native place, where he also prepared for college, and at the age of twenty or twenty-one years, became a student at Dickinson College. He graduated from that institution in 1859, delivering the German oration on that occasion. The same year he became principal of the Bloomsburg schools, holding the position for six years, and in 1865 was appointed by President Lincoln (two days before his assassination) postmaster at Bloomsburg, and was removed in October, 1866. May 1, 1869, he was re-appointed by Gen. Grant, and held the office until removed by President Cleveland in June, 1885. He held the chairmanship of the Republican County Central Committee for Columbia County for ten years; was delegate to the noted conference nominating Grant for a second term, and also to the National Convention at Cincinnati, which nominated Hayes. He was appointed by Gov. Hoyt in 1879 chairman of the commission locating and building the Miners' Hospital near Ashland, this State. This was entirely an honorary position, and for three years occupied in its construction Mr. BECKLEY devoted a great part of his time. He is a Knight Templar; a member of the Royal Arcanum, Council No. 957, and is now Past Regent of the order at Bloomsburg. He has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for thirty-three years, and has served the church as Sunday-school superintendent for ten years, as well as in other official positions. Mr. BECKLEY was elected in 1885 superintendent of schools and re-elected in 1886. He has been twice married; first in 1860, to Miss Amanda DEVLING of Clinton County, Penn., who died in 1870, leaving two children, William and Annie. In August, 1873, Mr. BECKLEY married Ella JOHNSON, who has borne him one child, Jennie. In September, 1862, Mr. BECKLEY volunteered in the emergency service and served for about one month. His regiment was then ordered to Hagerstown, Md., arriving there while the battle of Antietam was in progress, but the emergency passing, it was discharged and returned home. In March, 1871, Mr. BECKLEY bought the office of the Republican, and two years later sold out, but retained his position as editor for ten years. He is a member of the board of trustees of the State normal school, having served as such for twelve years, and has always been active in his efforts to sustain and promote the best interests of that institution. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 323)

LOUIS BERNHARD, watchmaker and jeweler, Bloomsburg, was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 1839. When he was a year old his parents immigrated to America, settling in New York City, and a few years later in Wilkesbarre, Penn. Here our subject passed his youth and early manhood, meanwhile obtaining a good education in the Wilkesbarre schools. When seventeen years of age he began an apprenticeship at the watchmaking trade with John F. JORDAN of that place, under whose instruction he remained several years, and in 1858 located at Bloomsburg, where he established the watchmaker's and jewelers' business, which he still continues. He exhibited at the county fair in 1859 a chronometer watch, all the parts of which were made by himself. This, with out doubt, was the first watch ever made in Columbia County, and since then he has made many. During his residence in Bloomsburg he has had eleven apprentices, all of whom served their time and subsequently made a success of their vocation. Mr. BERNHARD is also an architect, and has furnished plans for many buildings, among them the Lowenberg & Cadman block, the Episcopal parsonage and his residence on Fifth Street. Even the iron fence surrounding his well kept and ornamental grounds was cast from designs drawn and furnished by him. In his home many evidences of his mechanical skill and artistic talent meet the eye, as he is also an artist in oil painting and a carver in marble and wood. Among the articles of the latter class may be mentioned a most elaborately finished case of black walnut, an astronomical clock of most intricate and perfect workmanship, which runs for two months after one winding, and valued at upward of $500; an elegant inlaid box for his drawing instruments; a large black walnut looking-glass frame, elaborately carved, reaching from floor to ceiling; a center table, and many other handsome articles. His walls are hung with several oil paintings executed by himself, several landscapes representing some of the choicest scenery in the vicinity of Bloomsburg, also several copies of famous paintings, among them "Shakespeare and his Friends." All of these paintings are well executed and denote a high order of artistic skill. He has also executed oil portraits of himself and wife and other members of his family. Mr. BERNHARD has been a resident of Bloomsburg for nearly thirty years; is progressive and public-spirited, and has served his vicinity as a member of the council. He married in April, 1862, Anna J. TOWNSEND, who has borne him six children: Annie J., Ida, Laura E., Louis F., Carl G. and Lillian Mabel. Mr. and Mrs. BARNHARD [sic] are members of the Episcopal Church. He made a study of civil engineering at Wilkesbarre Academy, and completed his studies in New York City. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 323)

GEORGE W. BERTSCH, merchant tailor, Bloomsburg, is a native of Mauch Chunk, Carbon Co., Penn., and a son of Daniel G. BERTSCH, a merchant tailor of that place. He began to learn the trade of cutter and tailor with his father, and remained with him until 1883, when he located at Bloomsburg. He carried a full line of gents' fine furnishing goods of every description. In clothing his business is all order work; is now in its fourth year in town, and has gradually increased until he now does one of the best trades in his line in the place. He was married, in October, 1884, to Miss FLECKENSTINE. Mr. BERTSCH is a member of Washington Lodge, No. 265, F. & A. M., Council No. 957, R. A. He and his wife are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. BERTSCH is an enterprising young business man of Bloomsburg, a thorough master of his business in all its branches, and makes a specialty of fine suits to order. For this class of work his long training under his father as a fashionable and scientific cutter makes him especially adapted, insuring the latest fashions and best fitting garments to his customers. In politics he is a straight Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 323)

FRANKLIN PIERCE BILLMEYER, Bloomsburg, district attorney of Columbia County, is a native of this county, born December 31, 1852, son of Peter BILLMEYER, who was sheriff at the time, residing in the old jail. The subject of this sketch obtained his early education at the schools of Bloomsburg and Bloomsburg Literary Institute, where he completed his preparatory studies for college. He entered Lafayette College in the second term (the Freshman class) in January, 1870, and was graduated from there in June, 1873. He was a member of the "Theta Delta Chi" fraternity, a popular student, a proficient in athletic exercises, class orator on public occasions, and was class historian and orator on graduating. After his graduation Mr. BILLMEYER read law in the office of E. R. SKILER, was admitted to the bar in 1875, and the following spring began the practice of law at Bloomsburg. He has taken an interest in the politics of the county and State, and in September, 1877, was elected a member of and secretary of the board of trustees of the State normal school, and still serves in that capacity, the balance of the board being composed of men of fifty years of age and upward. In the spring of 1877 he was elected town treasurer, an office he filled two years. In 1879 he took a prominent part in organizing the water-works, and in July was elected secretary of the citizens' meeting called to discuss the feasibility of the enterprise. In August a permanent organization was effected, of which he was elected secretary, an office he has continued to fill, and since 1881 he has been treasurer. In 1881 he was again elected town treasurer for one year; in 1882 was elected a director of the Rosemont Cemetery Company, and still fills the position; in 1884, for the third time, he was elected town treasurer; in June, 1885, he was one of the organizers of the School Furniture Company, was elected secretary, and as such is still serving. In September, 1885, Mr. BILLMEYER was appointed district attorney by the court to fill a vacancy, and in November was elected to the office, being the present incumbent. He was also one of the organizers, in 1886, of the board of trade, and was elected its secretary. He was also one of the proprietors of and is now a stockholder in the Oak Grove Association. Mr. BILLMEYER was married in December, 1878, to Anna D. SNYDER, youngest daughter of Wm. SNYDER, an old and prominent citizen and business man of Bloomsburg. They have one child, Helen May. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 324)

JOHN K. BITTENBENDER, of the firm of ELWELL & BITTENBENDER, proprietors of "The Columbian," Bloomsburg, was born in Centre Township, this county, June 4, 1854, a son of Conrad and Lovina (KNORR) BITTENBENDER, the latter of whom died October 14, 1875. They were the parents of three sons and one daughter. The father was a farmer, but moved to Bloomsburg in 1869, where he carried on a planing-mill and lumber business, and for many years was one of the most substantial men of this place. He was treasurer of the Bloomsburg Lumber company, and had charge of its financial affairs during its existence. When our subject was but two years old his parents moved to Bloomsburg where he was reared. Up to 1870 he attended the schools of the borough, and graduated at the normal school in 1874. In 1870 he began to learn the trade of printer, and after graduating taught school for one year. In 1875 he opened a job printing office in Bloomsburg, which he conducted for three years; then sold out and became interested in a planing-mill about a year. In 1878-79 he aecepted [sic] the position of foreman in the office of 'The Columbian', and held it until October 1, 1879, when he became one of the proprietors of the paper. Our subject married, January 19, 1881, Alvaretta, a daughter of I. S. KUHN, and they have one son.óClaude K. The family attended the services of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 324)

Samuel Vastine BOONE, farmer, P.O. Bloomsburgh [sic], was born November 5, 1828, in the old homestead in Bloom, where he has always resided. The first of his ancestors to settle in this county was Samuel BOONE, who was born in Exeter Township, seven miles below Reading, and came to this township about 120 years ago. He took up nearly 400 acres, 123 of which being where our subject now resides, a part of the old homestead. He was a member of the society of Friends and a man highly respected. He and his wife, whose maiden name was Eleanor HUGHES, are buried in the Friend's burying-ground at Catawissa. Their son, Samuel, was the father of our subject, and was born September 3, 1786, in Bloom Township. He married August 18, 1813, Mary VASTINE, a native of Rush Township, Northumberland Co., Penn., and a daughter of Benjamin VASTINE. Subject's father inherited the farm and always resided there. He learned the blacksmith's trade through he was principally engaged in farming. He attended the Friends' meetings. He and wife had five children, four of whom lived to be married: Elizabeth, born July 3, 1815, became the wife of David CLARK, and is now deceased; Annna, born December 19, 1818, was the wife of Andrew CLARK and is now deceased; Benton, died aged twenty-three years; he was born December 31, 1816; James, born March 5, 1821, married Anna OHMAN and died aged forty-nine, and Samuel V., our subject. The mother of this family died in 1835, and later the father married a Mrs. SHROCK, by which union there was no issue. Our subject's father died October 9, 1863, and is buried by the side of his wife in the Friends' burying-ground at Catawissa. Samuel V. inherited the homestead after the death of his father and there he yet resides. He married, October 23, 1856, Nancy, daughter of Gideon and Anna (DODSON) POST, and they had five children, four sons and one daughteróRosa Eleanor, who died in childhood. Of the sons, Samuel D. is the eldest, Josiah B. is the second, John S. is the third and Frank W. the youngest. Mr. and Mrs. BOONE are both members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 324)

Jeremiah John BROWER, merchant, Bloomsburg, was born in the village of Brower Town, Union Township, Berks Co., Penn., April 10, 1821, a son of John BROWER, and from him the village took its name. John BROWER was the patentee of a grain scoop that had a very extensive sale, also of door locks and many other manufactured articles that were universally used. He was a native of Berks County, Penn., and a son of Abram BROWER. The father of our subject was of German, the mother of Quaker descent. John and Frances (MILLARD) BROWER had two children: Jeremiah John, and Matilda, who married Richard H. JONES, now a widow and resides at Brower Town. Our subject was educated in the common schools and when seventeen taught school, which profession he followed eight years. He came to this county in 1839, where he resided until 1843; then for two years kept a boarding-school at Brower Town. In 1846 he came to Catawissa, this county; from 1848 to 1850 he resided in Mifflinville, and in the latter year opened a general store in Bloomsburg, which he conducted nineteen years. He was elected in 1870 justice of the peace, and served ten years. He has also served as school director and has taken an active part in forming four building and loan associations, and is now treasurer and secretary of the Mutual Building and Savings Fund Association, of Bloomsburg. The first which became a success was organized October 19, 1867, and terminated in June, 1877, Mr. BROWER being its president. Our subject was married in 1841 to Eliza, daughter of Dr. Eleazer BROTHWELL, of Mifflinville. They have four children: Eleazer B. BROWER, Frances J., wife of James K. BRUGLER, now of Butler, Bates Co., Mo.; Ada Eveline, wife of L. S. WINTERSTEEN; Mary Eliza, wife of J. H. LINGLE, of Bellefonte, Penn. Mr. BROWER established in 1881 his present business, trading in carpets, oil cloths, etc.; erected the building occupied by him in 1868 at a cost of $25,000 and has occupied it since 1869. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 325)

J. C. BROWN, editor and proprietor of the Columbia County Republican, Bloomsburg, is a native of Mifflinville, Columbia Co., Penn., born April 29, 1848, a son of William N. and Loretta (YONKER) BROWN. He was reared to the life of a farmer until about sixteen years of age, attending the schools of his township and a seminary at his native place. At the above age he became a student in Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport, from which he graduated in the classical course in 1868, with the highest honors of his class. That year he accepted a position as teacher in the Bloomsburg Literary Institute, which subsequently was merged into the State normal school, and where he remained until January, 1872, serving the last year as principal. He then engaged in civil engineering and was on the original survey for the North & West Branch Railroad, of which he was director six or eight years, and is still connected with the profession of engineering. August 1, 1875, he bought the office, presses and other material from E. M. WARDIN, of the Republican, and has since conducted that paper. It is an eight-column quarto, and has a circulation of upward of 1,200; is Republican in politics as its name indicates. Mr. BROWN is now a member of the board of directors for the proposed New York, Bloomsburg & Western Railroad; has served the town as member of the school board nine years; is a member of the Methodist Church, and has been for several years a member of the board of trustees; is treasurer of the Columbia County Agricultural Society; is one of the managers of the school furnishing company; a director of the steam heating company. In 1884 he was elected and served as a delegate to the National Republican Convention at Chicago. Mr. BROWN's ancestors were of Scotch descent, immigrated to America in the early part of the eighteenth century and settled on Long Island, afterward moving to Warren County, N. J. His great-great-grandfather, James BROWN, was born November 12, 1716. His children were John BROWN, born June 25, 1746; James, Martha, Sarah, Daniel and Charity. John BROWN was a blacksmith by trade and served as a soldier in the war of the Revolution. His first wife, Mary (BRUGLER) BROWN, died in Warren County, N. J., October 3, 1793. He married for his second wife Mrs. Margaret HAINES, October 21, 1794, and removed to Columbia County, Penn. He and his family settled about one mile south of Mifflinville in 1795, where he bought a mile square and resided until his death, September 24, 1819. He had five children, all by his first marriage: James; Samuel, born April 2, 1778, married Dorothy NICE, died October 12, 1823; Mary, who married Joseph OTTO and moved to McKEAN County, Penn., where she died; Elizabeth, who married George HESS and moved to Benton Township, this county, where she died; Sarah married Henry BOWMAN and lived and died in Mifflin Township, this county. Samuel, above mentioned, was the grandfather of Mr. J. C. BROWN, and at his father's death inherited the homestead. He was the father of the following named children: John; Margaret, who married Samuel CREASY; Sarah, married to George A. BOWMAN; William N., born February 15, 1807, the father of Mr. J. C. BROWN; Matthew; Elizabeth, widow of Alexander THOMPSON of Berwick, Penn.; James, who died when a young man; George B. and Elisha B. The old homestead of 130 acres is still owned by the BROWN heirs, and has been in the family name for ninety-three years. The early BROWNs and their descendants were members of the Methodist Church, and were among the principal founders of the early Methodist congregation at Mifflinville. Only one of the fourth generation still resides at Mifflinville, Margaret CREASY; two more of that generation are living: George B., in Danville and Elizabeth THOMPSON in Berwick. William N. BROWN (father of J. C.) was twice married, and by his first wife, Nancy FREAS, five children were born: George, Albert, John F., Almira and Dorcas. His first wife died in 1846, and in 1847 he married Loretta YONKER, who bore him two sons and three daughters: James C. (whose name heads this sketch), Martha, Samuel C., Melissa J. and Victoria. Mr. BROWN died September 17, 1876, and is buried in the family lot near Mifflinville. He had retired from farming in 1870 and built a house in Mifflinville, where he died and where his widow still resides. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 326)

PETER BRUGLER, capitalist, of Bloomsburg, was born in Hemlock Township, this county, October 7, 1824, a son of John and Mary A. (KINNEY) BRUGLER, and grandson of Peter BRUGLER, who came to this county, and settled at Limestone about 1790. He subsequently moved to Jerseytown, and thence to Hemlock Township, where he purchased 200 acres of land, on which he erected buildings and where he died, aged about ninety-four years. His wife also died there aged about seventy years, and both are buried in the Columbia graveyard, Hemlock Township. He was of Dutch and his wife of English descent. John BRUGLER, the father of our subject, was born in this county, married Mary A. KINNEY, a native of New Jersey. John was a farmer all his life and lived on and owned the homestead, to which he added until it consisted of 360 acres. He was a member of the Presbyterian church and an elder for many years. During the latter years of his life he resided at Bloomsburg, where he died, aged about sixty years. His wife died aged about fifty-nine years, and both are buried in Rosemont Cemetery. Our subject lived on the old homestead which was owned by himself and his brother, Elisha, until 1872, when he moved with his family to Bloomsburg, where he resided in a commodious residence on Third Street, engaged in the care of his estate and the loaning of money. He is a member of the Methodist Church, and has officiated as church steward for several years. He married, July 16, 1862, Sue BILLIG, who was born February 18, 1842, a daughter of Daniel and Martha (TALBERT) BILLIG. They have had five children: Anna May, Lizzie J. (deceased), John (deceased), Elmer and Martha. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 326)

DANIEL BRYFOGLE, farmer, P. O. Bloomsburg, was born in Nescopeck Township, Luzerne Co., Penn., July 5, 1833, a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (KEEN) BRYFOGLE, the former a son of Daniel, a native of Berks County. Daniel's father came from Germany. Jacob was a farmer in Luzerne County and owned 125 acres of land, where our subject was reared. October, 1854, Daniel BRYFOGLE married Emma Jane GOULD, and they began keeping house the same year on ninety-three acres, owned by his father-in-law, in Salem Township. There they lived for eighteen years, and in 1873 they moved too this county and settled on 105 acres in Bloomsburg (now one of the finest improved and most productive farms in the county, the results of Mr. BRYFOGLE's labor and industry). He is a Republican, and, with his wife and family, a member of the Christian Church. They have had seven children: Sarah E., born in 1855, died in 1862; Jacob J., born in 1858, died in October 1862; Winthrope, born in 1863; Ellanora Viola and Ellen Estella (twins), born August 13, 1866 (Ellen died at the age of one year); Stanley Grant, born August 4, 1869; Philip F., born September 25, 1874, died April 2, 1876. Mrs. Emma J. (GOULD) BRYFOGLE was born November 18, 1832, and is the daughter of John and Sarah (DAVENPORT) GOULD, the former a native of Plymouth and the latter of Ithaca, N. Y. The GOULDS were among the earliest settlers of Plymouth. The grandmother of Mrs. BRYFOGLE was a LAMAREAU, and married a DAVENPORT. During the Indian wars, while here husband was with the army, she was left alone at Plymouth, and in order to escape from the Indians took a boat and, with her children and goods, rowed the whole distance to Port Deposit, where she arrived safely. Mrs. BRYFOGLE's father, John GOULD, died September 27, 1883, and is buried in Beech Grove graveyard, Salem Township, Luzerne County. His widow now resides with our subject. On their farm in Bloomsburg, Mr. GOULD donated land for the Christian Church. This farm of ninety-three acres was willed to Mrs. BRYFOGLE by her father, but later she sold it to a brother, who now owns it. On her mother's side she is of French and German descent, while the DAVENPORTs were among the earliest settlers of this country. Ziba DAVENPORT, her grandfather, built and owned the first hotel in Plymouth, and was the first to freight coal down the river to Port Deposit. He was also a colonel in the militia and was highly honored and respected. The father of Ziba, named Stephen, owned a large portion of the land where Ithaca now stands. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 326)

CHARLES R. BUCKALEW was born in Fishingcreek Township, Columbia Co., Penn., December 28, 1821. He received an academic education, taught school, was clerk in a store, studied law and was admitted to the bar of Columbia County, August, 1843. He settled at Bloomsburg December, 1844, was appointed prosecuting attorney for Columbia County and served from 1845 to 1847, when he resigned. He was elected to the State Senate in 1850 from the counties of Columbia, Luzerne and Montour, and re-elected from the same district in 1853. In 1854 he was commissioner to exchange the ratifications of a treaty with Paraguay, serving as such in the summer and fall of that year between sessions of the Legislature. Mr. BUCKALEW was chosen presidential elector in 1856 at the head of the Democratic electoral ticket for the State; was chairman of the Democratic State Committee in 1857 when Packer was elected governor, and was again the same year elected to the State Senate from the district composed of the counties of Columbia, Montour, Northumberland and Snyder. The following winter he was appointed one of the commissioners to revise the penal code of the State, which position and the office of senator he resigned in 1858, upon being appointed minister resident of the United States to the Republic of Equador. Under that appointment he resided with his family at the city of Quito for three years--1858 to 1861. January 13, 1863, our subject was elected by the Legislature of Pennsylvania United States senator by a majority of one vote, and served as such for six years or until March 4, 1869. In the fall of 1869 he was elected to the State Senate for the fourth time from the district composed of the counties of Columbia, Montour, Northumberland and Sullivan. In 1872 he was the Democratic candidate for governor of Pennsylvania, but was defeated upon the popular vote. Served in the Constitutional Convention of 1873, and took a leading part in framing the present Constitution of Pennsylvania. In 1876, his name headed the Democratic State electoral ticket. May 3, 1886, he was elected president of the Bloomsburg and Sullivan Railroad Company. In November, 1876, he was elected Representative in Congress from the district composed of the counties of Columbia, Montour, Carbon, Monroe and Pike, and parts of the counties of Lackawanna and Luzerne. In 1872 Mr. BUCKALEW published a volume upon "Proportional Representation," edited by Col. FREEZE; in 1877 he contributed an article upon the same subject to Johnson's Cyclopaedia [sic], and in 1883 gave to the public an elaborate work upon the Constitution of Pennsylvania. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 326)

R. C. BUCKALEW, liveryman, Bloomsburg, was born in Cambria, Luzerne County, Penn., July 9, 1836, a son of John and Rachel (CREVELING) BUCKALEW. He was reared on a farm, where he remained with his father until 1862. In the spring of that year he enlisted in Company F, Seventh Regiment Pennsylvania Reserve Corps, and participated in many engagements; was through the Seven Days' fight, second Bull Run, Harper's Ferry and through Virginia, where he served on detached duty, taking part in several engagements and skirmishes; was at the battle of South Mountain and Antietam. He was mustered out at Philadelphia in the spring of 1865, having served just three years and three days. Returning home he remained there until 1871, when he went to New York City where he was engaged by Dufais & Walter, cotton brokers, one of the most prominent firms in that business in New York. There he acted as shipping clerk and cotton sampler, for which office he was licensed by the New York Cotton Exchange. These responsible positions he held until 1879, on October 1 of which year he came to Bloomsburg, and the day after his arrival bought his present business. Mr. BUCKALEW married January 28, 1880, Mary E. GAGER, who has borne him two children: Louis Walter and Lillian, aged respectively four and two years. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, pg. 327)

AMOS BUCKALEW, LIVERYMAN, Bloomsburg, was born in Cambria, Luzerne Co., Penn., October 11, 1837, a son of John and Rachel (CREVELING) BUCKALEW. He was reared on a farm, educated in the schools of the vicinity, and remained at home until twenty-five years of age, when he married, January 4, 1879, Mrs. MEARS, nee CREVELING. Mr. BUCKALEW came to this county in April 1869, and entered the employ of George REISWICK, in the livery business. October 3, 1879, he purchased it in company with his brother R. C., and since then they have conducted the business. They keep on an average ten single buggies, some carriages, and also run the stage lines to Rupert and the Delaware, Lackawana & Western Railroad. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, pg. 327)

ROBERT McREYNOLDS BUCKINGHAM, Bloomsburg, deputy United States revenue collector for the Eighth Division of the Twelfth Pennsylvania District, including the counties of Columbia, Montour and Northumberland, is a native of Centre Township, Columbia County, born December 14, 1856. He was reared in the family of his grandfather, John McREYNOLDS of Hemlock Township, this county, and completed his education at the normal school at Bloomsburg, graduating June 26, 1873. He began to teach the same fall, and continued for four terms of ten months at Milnesville, Luzerne County. He then accepted the position of principal of Room No. 3, of the graded school of Bloomsburg for one term of nine months, and an unexpired term of four months at Mainville, this county. During part of that time, he had given considerable attention to reading law, having registered as a student in 1876, with Charles G. BARKLEY, Esq., of Bloomsburg, and September 2, 1879, was admitted to the bar at that place. In 1882 he was elected chairman of the Columbia County Democratic Standing Committee, and served one year. In 1883 he was elected district attorney, serving until September 1, 1885, when he resigned to accept his present official position. Since his majority Mr. BUCKINGHAM has been an active participant in the politics of the vicinity, and an earnest worker in the interest of the Democratic party. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 327)

MICHAEL CASEY was born April 10, 1815, in the parish of Effin, County Limerick, Ireland, and came to the United States in the spring of 1836, landing in New York. He settled in Catawissa, Columbia County, and finally came to Bloomsburg in 1842. His parents were Patrick and Ellen (CLAREY) CASEY. Mrs. Michael CASEY, a daughter of John and Margaret (GRIFFITH) BOICE, was born November 16, 1818, in Berks County, Penn., died June 30, 1878. Her grandfather was Abraham BOICE, a native of Berks County, and a Revolutionary soldier and pensioner. He died in 1838. Her father, John BOICE, and his brother, Abraham BOICE, served in the war of 1812. John BOICE settled in Roaringcreek Township, Columbia County, in 1840, and in Bloomsburg in 1847. Daniel BOICE is the only one of John's children now living in Columbia County. Eight children have been born to Michael and Mary CASEY: Margaret, born November 27, 1842, intermarried with Thomas DOWNS, who resides in Beaver Township, this county; John B., born June 1, 1844; Ellen, born April 24, 1846; Thomas P., born July 31, 1847; Michael J., born April 8, 1849; Edward, born August 6, 1854, died July 31, 1855; Joseph A., born February 4, 1857; William, born march 25, 1860. All of the above children are now living, and except Margaret, reside at Bloomsburg, this county. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 328)

JOHN B. CASEY, commissioner's clerk of Columbia County, Bloomsburg, was born June 1, 1844, a son of Michael and Mary (BOICE) CASEY, the former a native of County Limerick, Ireland, and the latter of Berks County, Penn., and a daughter of John BOICE. John BOICE was a son of Abraham BOICE, and a soldier in the Revolution. Our subject was educated in the schools of Bloomsburg, also at Millville Seminary, and completed his studies by a course at the Crittenden Commercial College at Philadelphia in 1863. Mr. CASEY served as deputy sheriff in 1877-78, and has, since 1879, held the office of commissioner's clerk, a position he fills with credit. He was married December 29, 1868, to Matilda E. MURPHY, and seven children have been born to them: Edward, born June 14, 1870; John M., born March 25, 1872, died July 19, 1872; Mary E., born August 31, 1874; Matilda, born February 12, 1877; Michael H., born October 20, 1880; Charles, born February 17, 1883; Henry, born August 24, 1885. In politics Mr. CASEY is a Democrat. The family attend the services of the Catholic Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 328)

CASWELL. The Bloomsburg woolen-mill was established in 1882 by S. ALFONSO and Edwin C. CASWELL, who were reared to the business from their youth. The factory is a brick structure 54x124 feet, three stories high, with a boiler and engine house 26x36 feet, and cost $15,000. It is fitted with fourteen looms and other machinery of the latest improved and modern kind for the manufacture of ladies' fancy dress goods, and is adapted to manufacture all kinds of work--machinery, boilers, engines, etc., costing upward of $30,000. The establishment furnishes employment for forty hands, two-thirds being females, and turns out annually $75,000 worth in manufactured goods. They use only XX fine merino wool, buying mostly in the Philadelphia and New York markets. The factory is still owned by the original proprietors, but has been operated from its completion by S. A., E. C. and Marcus E. CASWELL and H. C. HALFPENNY. Marcus E. CASWELL died three months after the factory was completed, leaving a widow and one son--Carlton A. CASWELL, and since then the mill has been conducted by the three surviving partners, under the firm name of CASWELL Bros. & Co. It occupies about one and three-quarters acres, located on the south end of West Street adjacent to the Delaware, Lackawana & Western Railroad, which land was given as a bonus to the firm, to induce them to put in the plant, by D. J. WALLER. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 328)

S. ALFONSO CASWELL, the senior member of this firm, was born in Douglass, Worcester Co., Mass., March 8, 1836, and when but twelve years of age was employed in a cotton-mill at Southbridge, Mass., and continued in that employment until seventeen years of age. He then engaged as an employe [sic] in the Granite woolen-mill at Burrillville, R. I., and at nineteen was given charge of a room as overseer. From that time until he was thirty-eight years of age he was employed as overseer at different mills, at times having fifty or sixty hands under his direction. In 1874 he formed a partnership with his brother, E. C., and George and William YOUNGMAN, and leased the Nippenose mills, in Antes Fort, Lycoming County, which he conducted successfully for eight years. He then came to Blloomsburg in 1882. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 328)

EDWIN C. CASWELL, partner in the Bloomsburg woolen-mills, was born in the town of Thompson, Windham Co., Conn., July 16, 1838, son of Whipple and Olive H. (BLACKNAR) CASWELL, the former a native of Douglass, Mass., born in 1808 and now residing in Bloomsburg; the latter was born in Abington, Conn., in 1812 and died in Antes Fort, Penn., in 1881. They had nine children--eight boys and one girl--all of whom are living except the youngest son. The third son, Edwin C., the subject of this sketch, at the early age of ten years commenced working in a factory in Woodstock, Conn., as "mule boy." At the age of fourteen his parents moved to Burrillville, R. I., where he had his first experience in a woolen-mill, first learning to weave fancy cassimer, then had the care of looms, and finally the art of weaving or designing, which requires a general knowledge of the whole process of the manufacture of woolen goods. After holding several positions as boss weaver in different mills in Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and in 1868 in the Johnstown (Penn.), woolen-mills he accepted a position as boss weaver and designer in the large twelve-sett Uxbridge woolen-mills in Uxbridge, mass., having seventy-five hands under control. In 1870 he accepted a similar position in "Maple Grove" woolen-mills, Adams, mass., at a salary of $1,500 a year. In 1874 he commenced manufacturing along with his brother, S. A. CASWELL, at Antes Fort, Penn., since which time their business operations have been identical. They are self-made men, and have realized their early ambition to own and operate a mill of their own, which they now have in successful operation. Jerome O. CASWELL, the fifth son, is employed as boss dyer, and Miss Emma L. CASWELL, the sister, in the management of the weaving department. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 328)

HENRY J. CLARK, of the firm of Clark & Son, dealers in dry goods, fancy goods, notions, etc., Bloomsburg, was born at Catawissa, November 4, 1829, a son of James and Sarah (FUNSTON) CLARK, the former of whom was a native of Catawissa, and a son of John CLARK, one of the original settlers of that place. Our subject, when young, learned the tinsmith's trade, which he carried on at Muncy, Lycoming Co., Penn., for several years. In 1868 he came to Bloomsburg, where he has been interested in various lines of business, and established his present enterprise in 1870. Mr. CLARK has been identified with the business interest of Columbia County for nearly thirty-eight years, with the exception during that time of four or five years, part of which he spent in the army at Washington D. C., during the Rebellion. When the "Exchange Hotel" was burned in 1869 Mr. CLARK was the proprietor, and the following year, 1870, he established his present business which he has since continued. His stock is probably the largest of its kind in the county and its arrangements and appearance are equal to many pretentious stores in metropolitan cities. This establishment does an average business of from $25,000 to $30,000 per annum. Mr. CLARK has the reputation of being an enterprising and public-spirited citizen, and one of the most substantial business men of the town. He has one son, who is associated with him in the business, firm name being H. J. CLARK & Son. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 329)

CHARLES CONNER was born near Orangeville in 1815, and spent his boyhood days on the farm with his father. At an early age he began as clerk in the Montour Hotel in Danville, and remained there several years. During his stay he identified himself with the Episcopal Church and formed associations with the best families of Danville; at his death he left Mrs. BRADY, the widow of Samuel A. BRADY--the proprietor of the Montour House, in whose employ he was--$1,000 as a reward for her kindness in his delicate health. This was a great benefit to her in her declining years. When a boy he was a clerk in the store of the late Judge BALDY, of Catawissa. He engaged in mercantile business in Bloomsburg, and was subsequently elected register and recorder of Columbia County. He was appointed to a desk in the auditor-general's office at Harrisburg and served for about seventeen years, and in 1868 he entered life insurance partnership with J. A. FUNSTON. He was also identified with Mr. FUNSTON in starting the Bloomsburg Banking Company. About the year 1872 or 1873 he went to live with his half-sister Mrs. FISHER of Orangeville, and died there in January, 1875, aged about sixty years. Hon. William ELWELL and John A. FUNSTON were selected in his will as executors of his estate. The inventory amounted to about $35,000; through the accumulation of interest and premiums on filing the account about one year after, the estate amounted to $42,000. He bequeathed to his half-sister, Mrs. FISHER, the semi-annual interest on $8,600 during her life, after her death said $8,600 is left in trust with his executors for the University of the South, at Sewanee, Tenn., and to the three children of said Mrs. FISHER, viz.: Lizzie, Jesse and Charles, $2,000 each, to be paid to them with interest when twenty-one years old. Mrs. Jane BRADY, $1,000; Mrs. Rev. Robert Allen CASTLEMAN, $1,000; to his three namesakes, Charles Conner SHARPLAS, Charles Conner EVANS and Charles Conner TATE, and his nephew, Millard F. CONNER, each $500; to the rector and vestry of St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church in Bloomsburg for use of said church, $1,000; and the rest, residue and remainder of his estate to St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church in Harrisburg, which enabled this parish to build a neat and comfortable church. The will was written and dated December 4, 1873. His executors purchased a lot in Rosemont Cemetery at Bloomsburg, where he was interred; a neat metallic fence incloses his lot, and a plain but substantial and beautiful Scotch granite monument marks his resting place. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 329)

GEORGE W. CORELL, retired, Bloomsburg, was born in Upper Mount Bethel Township, Northampton County, July 4, 1824, to John George and Susannah (SHOCK) CORELL. the father was born in Northampton County and reared to farm life. He was twice married; first to Miss BECK, who died leaving one child, Elizabeth, who married George WINNER of Columbia County, and died in 1883; his second marriage was with Miss Susannah SHOCK, who bore him twelve children, eight of whom are living: Sallie, widow of John GROVER, in Monroe County; Philip, in Upper Mount Bethel Township, Northampton County; Joseph, in Mausdale, Montour county; Mary, wife of Jacob SNYDER, in Lower Mount Bethel Township, Northampton County; George W., our subject, Margaret Ann, wife of Jacob DARHONE, in Upper Mount Bethel Township, Northampton County; Susan, widow of Robert DUNBAR of Lebanon, Penn., and Henry, who resides in Republic, Seneca Co., Ohio. The deceased are Catharine, Samuel and two infants who died unnamed. The father of this family died about 1865, aged eighty years. The mother died about 1863, aged seventy-four years, and both are buried at the new school Lutheran Church, Upper Mount Bethel Township, Northampton County. The latter was a member of that church, but Mr. CORELL belonged to the Reformed Church. Our subject was reared at the place of his birth, and in his eighteenth year went to Richmond in the adjoining township of Lower Mount Bethel, to learn the trade of cabinet-maker with Jacob KEEFER. He remained there three years and three months learning the trade, and after arriving at age was employed by Mr. KEEFER as a journeyman for nine months, and then worked a year at his trade and carpenter work for John WAGNER, in Upper Mount Bethel Township. He then moved to Bloomsburg, and for a while carried on carpentering, and in the fall of the same year, 1847, opened a shop and embarked in the undertaking and cabinet-making business. He conducted this for about twenty years, and then put in a line of furniture and conducted the business in this way until 1878, when he sold out to his eldest sons. About two years later the Farmers Exchange was organized, in which Mr. CORELL bought stock, and since that time the business of the concern has increased to about $100,000 per annum. August 8, 1882, he and his step-son, Lloyd, purchased a drug store in Hughsville, which is conducted by his step-son, under the firm name of CORELL & WHITE. Mr. CORELL also owns forty acres of land left in Hemlock Township, after selling eleven acres in 1885; also eight-three acres in Northampton County. The latter he rents, but the former is supervised by Mr. CORELL. He married in Northampton County, in 1845, Miss Amanda MACK, a native of Northampton County, a daughter of Samuel and Isabel MACK, who are both living in that township. Mrs. CORELL died in 1870, and is buried in Rosemont Cemetery, Bloomsburg. By that marriage there were ten children, four of whom died in infancy. the living are William J., married to Agnes FAUST, and George WINNER (these two sons are engaged in the furniture and undertaking business in Bloomsburg, succeeding their father); Mary, wife of Frank C. CASPER, who lives in Pittston, where he conducts a job printing office; Isabel, wife of N. M. HARTMAN of Nanticoke, proprietor of The Sun (newspaper) office at that place; Albert Henry, who has a job office in Bloomsburg, and Edwin, who is employed by William KRICKBAUM. Mr. CORELL married February 28, 1871, Mrs. Mary Ann WHITE, widow of Russell WHITE, by whom she had four children, two now living: Cyrus, who lives at Cherokee City, Iowa, engaged in the bakery and confectionery business, and Lloyd M., who conducts the drug business previously mentioned, at Hughsville. Mr. and Mrs. CORELL are members of the Methodist church, as is also the elder of their children, of which church Mr. CORELL has been trustee for the past thirty years; was treasurer of the church from 1854 to 1884, when he resigned; has been class-leader for twenty-five years. He was a member of the borough council two terms; was school director of the township before it becaame a borough and was tax collector of the borough one year. He is manager and treasurer of the Farmers Exchange, which positions he has held since the establishment of the institution. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 330)

FRANK D. DENTLER, boot and shoe merchant, Bloomsburg, is a native of Parkville, St. Joseph Co., Mich., born March 7, 1851, a son of Franklin G. and Mary (CATHCART) DENTLER, natives of McEwensville, Northumberland Co., Penn., the former of German and the latter of Scotch ancestry. the father, who was always engaged in the stock and farm business, when a young man went to Michigan, and has lived nearly ever since in the vicinity of his present home, St. Joseph Co., Mich., where he owns some 300 acres of land. Our subject lived with his father on the farm until he was fifteen years of age, when he became a clerk with I. W. Pursel & Co., Schoolcraft, Mich., with whom he was engaged four years. The following two years he spent in the store of his uncle, Joseph CATHCART, at Clarinda, Iowa, and the next two years at Constantine, Mich., in the store of Briggs & Davis; was then engaged one year with C. H. GAINSLEY at Schoolcraft, Mich. In 1874 he came to Bloomsburg and accepted the position of head clerk in the store of I. W. McKELVY, which he held seven years. In the spring of 1881 he established his present business in the building now occupied by the postoffice, and subsequently built the block he now occupies, on Second Street. Mr. DENTLER married in 1873 Mary PURSEL, daughter of Sylvester and Mary J. (EMMETT) PURSEL, and they have one son, William C. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 330)

J. LLOYD DILLON, florist and seedsman and proprietor of the greenhouses on Normal Hill, Bloomsburg, is a native of that place, born July 7, 1851, and was educated in the schools of his native place. In 1867 his father bought a farm just in the rear of the present greenhouses and, besides general farming, was extensively engaged in market gardening. From the age of sixteen our subject became interested in the raising and selling of vegetables, for which he had a special liking. At twenty-one he became a partner with his father, and as their business increased they annually grew a large quantity of lettuce in hot beds, but the amount of labor involved in procuring manure and protecting the beds from freezing, the impossibility of opening and working the beds in severe cold weather, made the cost of growning the lettuce very expensive. In the spring of 1875 our subject rented ground of his father and proceeded too build a greenhouse 20x60 with the view of having lettuce for sale all through the winter, and at a lower cost of production than in hot beds. This was the first greenhouse built in bloomsburg and, when commenced, J. L. DILLON had less than $150 capital, part of which he expended for lumber and during mornings, evenings and odd spells, he ripped and worked by hand all the sash bars, planed and painted all the lumber and did the greater part of the wok of building the greenhouse himself. The demand for lettuce not meeting his expectations, Mr. DILLON began giving his attention to the raising of flowers. The partnership with his father being dissolved, he devoted his entire time to the raising of flowers and small fruits. About that time the famous "sharpless strawberry" became known, and Mr. DILLON raised thousands of the plants, taking an active part in introducing them throughout this county and Canada, sending orders as far as Victoria, British columbia. He bought in 1879 nearly ten acres of ground on Normal Hill, adjoining the grounds and northeast of the normal school buildings, and removed the old greenhouse to this site. He has since added four more and is now building the sixth. The present buildings have over 10,000 square feet. The entire buildinggs are heated by steam from two twenty-horse power steam boilers, with pipes radiaating in all directions and providing a uniform temperature during the coldest weather. The furnace and boilers are fitted with an automatic attachment that may be set or gauged to furnish a certain amount of heat, and requires no further attention for ten or twelve hours at a time. It is one of the first greenhouses in the country successfully heated by steam. The water supply is from an artsian well on the premises, sunk to a depth of 150 feet through the solid rock. (The winmill that now pumps the water from this well, also drilled the hold through the solid rock from which the water comes. The mill was first erected and by an ingenious invention of Mr. DILLON, the drill was attached to the wind power and thus the well was made. These greenhouses are the most extensive ones in central Pennsylvania as well as being the most successfully conducted.) In a greenhouse containing 3,600 square feet of glass, built in 1885 for raising carnations and for other purposes, Mr. DILLON gathered and sold off of 1,610 square feet 185,000 carnations, realizing from them alone in one crop enough to pay for the entire cost of the greeenhouse and heating apparatus. The establishment cultivates every variety of flowering plants, but makes a specialty of roses, verbenas and cut flowers. Mr. DILLON also ships large quantities of loose flowers to nearly all the large cities of the country. It is one of the important industries of Bloomsburg and has grown steadily from its start in 1875 with an annual sale of $513, to the year ending July 1, 1886, when the annual sales amounted to $4,500. Mr. DILLON was married may, 1873, to Eliza J. BARKLE, a native of England, who came when young with her father, William BARKLE, and settled in Bloomsburg. To this union three children were born: Alice M.; J. Lloyd, born January 31, 1882, and died April 8, 1882; and Max G. Our subject's father, Patrick DILLON, a native of Dublin, Ireland, immigrated to thhis country when eighteen years of age and located in Bloomsburg. He was employed for years as a clerk in the Irondale Iron Cpmpany and subsequently bought the farm above mentioned. He married Mary EMMERSON (the mother of our subject), who was born in England, but came with here parents to this country when she was but a year old. They still live on the farm northeast of the normal school. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 331)

EDWARD RODMAN DRINKER, manager of the Bloomsburg Iron Company, Bloomsburg, was born near Clifton postoffice, Covington Township, Luzerne, now Lackawana, County, November 5, 1830. His ancestors were from England, and settled in Philadelphia about the time of William Penn, and one, Edward DRINKER, was the first white child born where Philadelphia now stands. The grandfather of our subject was Henry DRINKER, a direct descendant of the Edward above named. Henry was for many years cashier of the Bank of North America at Philadelphia, where he died about 1830. His wife's maiden name was Mary HOWELL, and their son, Richard DRINKER, the father of our subject, first came to Luzerne County with his brother Henry W., to take charge of a tract of 25,000 acres owned by their father. They received the charter for the railroad from Great Bend to Delaware River, now the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western. They also bought a farm just adjoining the village. In 1854 he moved to Scranton and engaged in conveyancing and real estate business, and there died in November, 1861. He married Lydia, a daughter of John WRAGG, a native of England, who came to this country about the time of the French revolution; while on the ocean the ship was captured with all on board, and Mr. WRAGG was detained a prisoner on shipboard a long time. Later he settled in Luzerne County, Penn., but died at Beloit, Wis., aged about ninety years. Our subject became identified with the iron business in 1846, being employed as an office boy, and when seventeen became bookkeeper; continued as such for twenty-seven years, and for the last six years has been manager. He has served his vicinity in various local offices, and was a member of the council for five years; is a member of the Episcopal Church; he is a F. & A. M. He was married too Martha MENDENHALL in 1859, and they have three children: Edward W., Richard C. and Lydia W. In 1862 Mr. DRINKER enlisted as an emergency man, and soon after went with his regiment to the front, arriving during the battle of Antietam, after which the regiment returned home and was disbanded. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 331)

FRANCIS PEROT DRINKER, brother of the above, was born in Luzerne, now Lackawanna, County, November 16, 1832. He became identified with the Bloomsburg Iron Company in 1848-50, as bookkeeper, and has acted in that capacity up to the present time, with the exception of a few intervals. He was a member of the Anderson Cavalry, a cavalry organization belonging to Philadelphia, Penn. this cavalry organization was at the battle of Murfreesboro, Tenn., at which battle Mr. DRINKER was taken prisoner by Wheeler's rebel cavalry. By them he was stripped of his uniform and accoutrements, and then paroled and turned loose to shift for himself. After wandering about sick and without medicine or food, he finally reached Columbus, Ohio, where he remained for some time for exchange. He was finally discharged on account of sickness, when he returned home. Subsequently he enlisted again, and was at the battle of Gettysburg and in other engagements. He married in 1864, Miss Mary CHAMBERLAIN, who has borne him the following named children: Martha C., William W., Margaret, and Francis P., Jr. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 331)

GEORGE EDWARD ELWELL, attorney at law, and one of the proprietors of the Columbian, Bloomsburg, is a native of Towanda, Bradford Co., Penn., born in October, 1848, a son of Judge William ELWELL of Bloomsburg. He was educated primarily in the Towanda schools, and prepared for college at Barker's select school in Philadelphia. In 1867 he became a student at Trinity College, Hartford, Conn., and took a three years' course in the class of 1870. After leaving college he accepted the position of teacher in the Fifth Street School, Bloomsburg, being so employed for one year and a half, and filled the chair of English literature at the normal school, also of French and German for a year and a half. He in 1872, in the meantime, began the study of law; became in the summer of 1873 a student in his father's office, and was admitted to the bar in September, 1874. He immediately formed a partnership with C. B. BROCKWAY, and in 1875 they bought the Columbian, though still fully attending to law practice. In October, 1879, the partnership was dissolved, J. K. BITTENBENDER buying Mr. BROCKWAY's interest in the paper, the firm becoming ELWELL & BITTENBENDER, and since 1879 Mr. ELWELL has conducted his law practice alone. Our subject married in October, 1876, Miss Mary A., a daughter of I. W. McKELVY. Mr. ELWELL is a member of the Episcopal Church, and has been a vestryman for the past ten years. In politics he is a Democrat; served in the town council four years, and was a member of the Democratic State Committee for three years. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 332)

HON. WILLIAM ELWELL, president judge of the Twenty-sixth Judicial District of Pennsylvania, resident in Bloomsburg for the last twenty-four years, was born at Athens, in Bradford County, on the 9th of October, 1808. His father, Dan ELWELL, was a native of Massachusetts, and his mother, nee Nancy PRENTICE, of Connecticut. They were of English extraction. Their lineage is traceable back to the time of Cromwell. His father was a carpenter and builder and a mathematician of considerable notoriety. He was an active promoter of the cause of education in the community in which he lived, his own children having the best advantages which the common schools and an academy of high standing afforded. He married Nancy PRENTICE at Athens in 1800. She was the daughter of Dr. Amos PRENTICE, a physician and surgeon in the army of the Revolution. Dr. PRENTICE suffered great loss at Groton, Conn., by the destruction of property by the soldiers of Arnold, the traitor, he and his family barely escaping with their lives. He afterward moved to Athens, Bradford County, where he died in 1805. One of his sons, William, after whom our subject was named, was a lawyer, whose books and papers on his death came into the hands of the father of Judge ELWELL. It was the perusal of these, together with the fact that he was a namesake of his uncle, a lawyer, that inspired the young mind of the future judge with the idea of becoming a lawyer. His father died in 1868 at the age of ninety-four years, and his mother died in 1858 at the age of eighty-three years. They had eight children, William being the fourth child and third son. Two of the sons now dead were ministers, the eldest being an Episcopal and the fifth a Methodist clergyman. Two sons, the only members of the family now living, became lawyers and subsequently judges, one in Wisconsin and the other (our subject) in Pennsylvania, as first stated. He received a good academic education and continued his studies years after his school years. In 1827, having previously acquired a knowledge of surveying, he was employed with the corps of engineers under Chief Engineer John Randall, engaged under the authority of the State in running advance or exploring lines on both sides of the North Branch of the Susquehanna River from the State line south, for the canal proposed to be constructed from the State line to tide water. The use of the compass and other practical knowledge acquired during the progress of that survey was afterward very beneficial to him in preparing ejectment cases for trial. In September, 1830, he commenced the study of law in the office and under the preceptorship of Hon. Horace WILLISTON, a lawyer of the old school well versed in the principles of the common law. He came to the bar in the State of New York, and was familiar with equity practice and principles as administered by the courts of that State, under the administration of Chancellor Kent and other eminent judges of that day. On the 13 of February, 1833, Judge ELWELL was admitted to the bar of Bradford County. He at once became the partner of his preceptor on equal terms, opened an office at Towanda and for the next sixteen years the firm continued in practice in the northern tier of counties.
In 1849 the senior partner was appointed judge of the district. From that time until 1862 the junior continued the practice alone, retaining all the business of the old firm. In 1841 Judge ELWELL was elected to the House of Representatives for 1842 from Bradford County. He was chairman of the judiciary committee of that session. That committee was composed of men of mark. Four of its members were afterward president judges, one became chief justice of the supreme court of the State, one was Thaddeus STEVENS, afterward know in Congress as the great commoner, and one of them was subsequently minister to a foreign government.
In the course of his practice Judge ELWELL had been often employed to procure the release of persons from prison who had been committed for the non-payment of debts. Impressed with the barbarity of the law which permitted arrest and imprisonment for such a cause, he, without a petition requesting it and without any public agitation upon the subject, prepared, introduced and reported from his committee a bill to abolish imprisonment for debt and punish fraudulent debtors. The bill as it came from his hands, containing many sections, was passed and became a law on the 12th of July, 1842, and stands upon the statute book to-day intact. The prison doors were at once thrown open and the poor debtor set free amid general rejoicing that a relic of barbarism had been swept away. The Judge was elected to the House for 1843 and served as chairman of the committee of ways and means, then the most important committee owing to the depressed condition of the finances of the State.
In April, 1871, after a general and protracted strike of miners and other employes in the antracite coal regions and all attempts at settlement or compromise had failed, the Judge was unanimously chosen by a joint committee, representing both the operators and the miners as umpire to decide between them. He heard the parties for two days and rendered his decision in writing which was acquiesced in by both sides. The strike was ended. Work was resumed--the rulings on all hands were considered eminently just, both as to control of the works and wages to be paid.
Judge ELWELL resided in Bradford County, when, in 1862, he was elected president judge of the district composed of Columbia, Wyoming and Sullivan. In 1872 he was re-elected. In 1874 Columbia and Montour Counties were made a separate district, of which he was continued the judge. In 1882 he was elected again without an opposing vote, as had been the case in the two preceding elections. He has been, it is believed, more frequently called to hold special courts in other districts than any other judge in the State. His decisions, which have undergone review in the Supreme Court, have with few exceptions been affirmed. In the criminal courts no case has been reversed. In equity and the Orphans' Court but three decrees have been either reversed or modified. Among the cases tried before the judge are some of the most celebrated of the time, to wit: The Williamsport bond case, amount involved more than half a million of dollars; the city of Philadelphia against Fisher, involving title to 12,000 acres of land; the Cameron will case; the trial and conviction of three Mollie Maguires for murder, whose execution, in connection with convictions in other counties, broke up the most desperate gang of murderers and outlaws that ever existed in this country.
The Judge is now, and has been for many years, president of the board of trustees of the State normal school at Bloomsburg, an institution in the prosperity of which he takes a deep interest.
He has been twice married; in 1832 to Clamana SHAW, daughter of Loren SHAW, Esq., of what is now Waverly, N. Y. By this wife he had four children two of whom survive their mother, who died October 5, 1840, to-wit: William, ex-mayor of the city of Sheboygan, Wis., where he is largely engaged in the milling business and the plaster trade, and Clamana E., widow of P. H. SMITH, who was a successful merchant of Plymouth, Wis., and State senator from the Sheboygan District, serving his second term at the time of his death.
On the 19th of September, 1844, the Judge married Mary Louisa THAYER, daughter of Col. E. THAYER, of Watkins, Schuyler Co., N. Y. Six children have been from of this marriage, four of whom are living: Ephraim W., agent of the Lehigh Valley Railroad at Towanda; George E., attorney at law, editor and co-proprietor of the Columbian newspaper establishment; Mary L., married to N. U. FUNK, attorney at law, and Charles P., student. Two of the children died at Bloomsburg, one in its sixth and the other in its third year. The Judge and his family are members of the Episcopal Church. He is of a retiring disposition, enjoys the comforts of home, dislikes a crowd, is happy with his family, his books and his garden. He is an amateur gardener of the most enthusiastic type as all who pass his grounds can attest. He says he has voted fourteen times for the Democratic nominee for President of the United States, and claims that he has voted seven times for the candidate that was elected. Although a Democrat of decided convictions, it has never been charged that his politics have in any manner influenced his judgment or decision in judicial proceedings. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 332)

HON. PETER ENT (deceased) was born in Roaringcreek Township, this county, February 11, 1811, a son of Charles and Elizabeth ENT. He was a carpenter and contractor, and during the later years of his life carried on mercantile business and also iron furnace at Light Street. He was a prominent Democrat, one of the county commissioners, when the county seat was removed to Bloomsburg; was collector of tolls at Beach Haven; was elected a member of the House of Representativs [sic] of Pennsylvania, and served two terms 1856-57, and was a delegate to the Democratic Convention at Charleston, in 1860. He died in 1876, at Light Street. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 333)

UZAL H. ENT, bookkeeper, Bloomsburg, a son of the Hon. Peter ENT, was born January 13, 1838. He obtained his education in the schools of Light Street, and enlisted October 1, 1861, in Company D, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, as first lieutenant, and served until October, 1862, when he was honorably discharged on account of physical disability. He participated in the following engagements: Winchester, Port Republic, Cedar Mountain, Thoroughfare Gap and second Bull Run. On leaving the army he came home, and in 1863 enlisted as an emergency man; was made captain of Company H, Twenty-eighth Pennsylvania Volunteer Militia and served about six weeks; was under fire at Hagerstown, Md., while following up Lee's army on its retreat to the Potomac. He then returned to Light Street, and was engaged in farming and milling for ten years. In 1879 he was elected sheriff of Columbia County, serving three years, and is now employed as bookkeeper in KRUG's planing-mill. Mr. ENT was married June 10, 1863, to Helen M. MARTZ of Pottsville, Schuylkill Co., Penn. They have six children: Alonzo M., Ramsay M., Oscar W., Nellie M., Jessie B. and Minnie E. Mr. ENT is a member of Oriental Lodge, 264, F. & A. M. of Orangeville, and also of the G. A. R. In politics he is a Democrat. The family attend the services of the Reformed Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 334)

WELLINGTON H. ENT, deceased soldier, was born in Light Street, Columbia Co., Penn., August 16, 1834, and attended the common schools, and at Williamsport, Penn. He read law in Bloomsburg, and graduated in the same class with Postmaster-General VILAS, at the law university of Albany, N. Y., May 25, 1860, under the able instruction of President Reuben A. WALWORTH, and Profs. Ira HARRIS, Amasa J. PARKER and Amos DEAN. He was appointed, by the governor, notary public, December 5, 1860; was admitted too the bar of Columbia County at the September term, 1860. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he went to the rescue of his country, going in June, 1861, as first lieutenant in a volunteer company to Harrisburg, where he was chosen and commissioned as captain of Company A., Sixth Pennsylvania Reserves. He was subsequently promoted too the following offices in his regiment: After Antietam as major, September 21, 1862; after Fredericksburg as lieutenant-colonel, May1, 1863, to rank from March 26, 1863; after Gettysburg as colonel, July 1, 1863, to rank from may 23, 1863; as brigadier-general United States Volunteers, March 13, 1865, for gallant conduct at the battle of the wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, Bethesda Church, Va.; he served in the Third Brigade, McCall's Division Pennsylvania Reserves, September 16, 1861; reconnoitered beyond Dranesville, October 19-21, and Dranesville, December 20; with the Second Brigade, Second Division, First Corp, Army of the Potomac, 1862; advance on Manassas, March 10, 1862; advance on Falmouth, May 2; ordered to Peninsula June 13; with Third Brigade, Seymour's Division, Fifth Corp, guarding supplies at Tunstall's Station, and White House, June 14-29; transferred to First Brigade, July 4; ordered to reinforce, the Army of Virginia with the First Brigade, Third Division, First Corps, in August; Gainesville, August 28; Graveston, August 29; Bull Run, August 30; South Mountain, Md., September 14; Antietam, 16-17; in command of regiment at Fredericksburg, December 11-15; Burnsides Second Campaign, January 20 and 24, 1863; with Twenty-second Corps in defense of Washington, February 7 to June 25, and with First Brigade, Third Division of Fifth Corps, June 28; Gettysburg, July 2-4; Bristow's Station, Va., October 14; New Hope Church, November 26; Wine Run, November 26-30; Wilderness, May 5-7, 1864; Spottsylvania, May 8-12. In command third Brigade, Third Division, Fifth Army Corps, May 10, 1864; Spottsylvania Court House, May 12-20; Hanover, May 23, 26; North Anna, May 24-27; Bethesda Church, May 30 (wounded). He surveyed and laid out the first "Signal Camp" in the army, and Gen. Fisher, of Philadelphia, was placed in command of it; served for a time in the signal corps; mustered out June 11, 1864, as one of the most gallant officers of the war. In the course of the engagements he had two horses shot under him, and at Dranesville the heel of his boot was shot off. In the battle of the Wilderness he was four nights and three days without food, save what berries he could gather from the bushes, and at Bethesda Church his favorite warhorse, "Billy" (which died September 15, 1884, at the age of 29 years and 6 months), had a portion of his fetlock shot off, which, although in the thickest of the fight, was the only injury he received. At this same battle Gen. ENT's regiment was three times outflanked and compelled to retreat, and on each occasion the whinnying of "Billy" served as a signal to rally the men. He was appointed by the governor of Pennsylvania to visit the Army of the Potomac to receive the soldiers' votes, September 28, 1864; captain and brigade paymaster First Brigade, Ninth Division, V. C. P., June 1, 1864. Died November 5, 1871. He was married January 14, 1869, to M. E. PETRIKIN, daughter of Dr. W. H. PETRIKIN, and granddaughter of Hon. Daniel SNYDER. This marriage resulted in one daughter--Anna M. He was engaged in a furnace at Light Street after the war. In 1868 he was nominated and made the race for surveyor-general of Pennsylvania, but with his party was defeated. In 1869 he was e WHEREAS, Providence has seen fit to remove, by death from our Asylum our late esteemed Sir Knight Wellington H. ENT, and although no word or deed of ours can now avail our brother who has been called to appear where the righteousness of Jesus Christ alone can secure everlasting life, yet in respect for the memory of one who was zealous in the advancement of the interests of our order, we do resolve: That in the humble submission of God's will we deplore the loss of a worthy officer of our Commandery, and a beloved member of our order.
RESOLVED, that in this dispensation of our Creator, while we commit to His merciful hands, the disembodied spirit of our brother with hope that he may have joined, in the precious blood of our Savior, an entrance into the blessed regions of light and life eternal, yet we remember that as Knights Templars we are again admonished that in the midst of life we are in death, and that it is our duty ever to persevere in the path of honor, truth and integrity.
RESOLVED, That to the family of the deceased we tender our deep sympathy, in their bereavement, and may the God of the widow and the orphan give them strength to bear up under the trials which their loss may occasion. RESOLVED, That a copy of these resolutions be presented to the widow, and another to the newspapers for publication. In testimony whereof we have hereunto set our hands and the seal of this Commandery to be affixed at Bloomsburg, Pa., this 22nd day of December, 1871.
Thomas E. GEDDIS
Rudolph H. RINGLE
John THOMAS
C. F. KNAPP, Recorder (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 334)

FREDERICK CHRISTIAN EYER, merchant, Bloomsburg, was born September 15, 1830, in Dutchess County, N. Y. His father, Rev. William J. EYER, was born January 4, 1803, in Lebanon County, Penn., and came to Columbia County when thirty-four years of age, and in 1838, settled with his wife, Charlotte (HAVEMEYER) EYER, at Catawissa. They were married May 7, 1829, and their children were as follows: Frederick C., born September 15, 1830; Susannah C., born August 18, 1834; Catherine, born January 23, 1838; William, born December 7, 1843; Mary, born November 8, 1840, and Luther, born March 12, 1846. The father was a Lutheran minister and graduated in New York City, where he remained for a long time under the instruction of the Rev. GEISENHAMMER. In 1838 he took charge of the Lutheran congregation at Catawissa, Bloomsburg and Roaringcreek, and acted as their minister until his death, February 9, 1874. He was much loved for his many Christian and kindly characteristics, and was highly respected by all dominations. His wife died February 2, 1876, and they are buried side by side in the cemetery at Catawissa. Before taking the above charges he had preached for the congregation at Rhinebeck, N. Y., for several years, and there his two eldest children were born. Our subject was educated in the schools of Catawissa and learned the trade of cabinet-making, but at the age of twenty-four opened a general store at Catawissa, which he conducted six years. In 1861 he came to Bloomsburg and kept store two or three years; thence moved to Ashland, where he was interested in flour-mills. In 1872 he was appointed steward at the State Hospital for the insane at Danville, and held that position ten years. He returned to Bloomsburg in 1882 and since has been interested in the clothing business under the firm name of EVANS & EYER. Mr. EYER married in 1861 Emma, of Catawissa, daughter of Reuben LINS. They had four children: Charlotte, died at the age of twelve years; Warren H., Mary S. and Edward A. Mr. EYER is a Democrat and served as a member of the town council two terms; is also a member of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 335)

JAMES K. EYER, merchant, Bloomsburg, was born in Madison Township, a son of Philip P. EYER, who was a son of Ludwig EYER. Ludwig was a dyer by trade and owned the land and laid out the town of Oyertown, now Bloomsburg, his dyeing shop, being located near the bridge leading to Hemlock. He later brought a farm near Black Run, where he also had a saw-mill and there resided until his death. He was a member of the Lutheran Church, and donated the land where the First Lutheran and German Reformed Churches were built; his son, Jacob, donated the land for the present Lutheran Church on Market Street. Philip P. EYER was a carpenter and cabinet-maker by trade, a business he carried on many years at Black Run. He died in Bloomsburg in 1883, at the age of ninety-two years. His wife, Catharine KENNEY, died at Bloomsburg and she and her husband are both buried in Rosemont Cemetery. They had ten children--five sons: James K., John A., Andrew J., F. Philip and Jacob (all deceased except J. K. and F. P.), and five daughters: Sarah A., married D. WILSON; Rebecca, married Dr. WILLITS; Catharine, married William PURSEL; Mary, died single, and Martha, wife of Amos OHLE. James K. EYER was reared on a farm and in 1862 or 1863 came to Bloomsburg; in 1844 he married Elmira HOLLINSHEAD of Catawissa. Mr. EYER has the following named children, living: John Wesley, Harriet E., wife of Mr. NOYER, and S. Lettie; five are deceased. Mr. EYER has been a member of the Methodist Church for forty-five years and class-leader for nearly thirty years. In politics he is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 335)

JOSHUA FETTERMAN, retired, Bloomsburg, was born in what is now Locust Township, Columbia Co., Penn., January 20, 1815, son of George and Elizabeth (SOULE) FETTERMAN. The father was born in Berks County, where he married, and coming to Columbia County bought land in what is now Locust township, where William FETTERMAN now lives (the tract then consisted of 240 acres), and erected the buildings now occupied by his grandson. Here he followed farming until his death. He and his wife, Elizabeth (SOULE) FETTERMAN, were the parents of ten children, five of whom are living: John, in Franklin Township; Joshua, our subject; Catherine, wife of Henry HARNER, in Catawissa; Sarah, wife of William YAGER, in Catawissa; Elizabeth, wife of Hamilton FISHER, also in Catawissa. The names of the deceased are as follows: Solomon, Henry, George, Jonas and Reuben. the father of this family died in September, 1860; the mother in April, 1844, and both are buried in Numidia Cemetery. Joshua FETTERMAN was reared in Locust Township, and assisted his father on the farm until seventeen years of age. He then went to Girardsville, Schuylkill County, and worked at the stone mason's trade, which he learned from his father. three months later, accompanied with others he went to Phoenixville, and engaged in mason work on culverts. He then worked for about a year on the high bridges of the Catawissa road, principally at the Mainville Bridge; thence he went to Franklin Township and worked on the construction of a furnace at the mouth of Roaring creek, and later on the erection of a furnace at Danville; thence to Rolston, and after a couple of months on construction there, returned to Danville and superintended the building of the Grove furnace in that city. He then contracted to build canal bridges in the Pennsylvania Canal, which engaged his attention until the following spring. He then went to Danville and engaged in the construction of the furnaces which now belong to the Reading Railroad. In 1842 he moved to Pottsville, and there was engaged as stone cutter and brick mason, doing considerable work for the Pottsville Bank, and in the following January returned to Columbia County and spent the winter in repairing furnaces. May 1, 1844, he came to Bloomsburg to superintend the construction of the Iron Dale furnaces, and here has since remained. he superintended them until 1881. In 1882 he was elected county commissioner of Columbia County, which position he held for three years. Since then he may be said to have withdrawn from active labor, although he has superintended farming on a piece of land on the outskirts of Bloomsburg. He married in this county, August 25, 1844, Miss Rebecca MILLER, of Columbia County, daughter of Henry and Catherine (MOSTELLAR) MILLER. Her parents came from Northampton County to Columbia County, and in Mifflin Township her father followed farming until about ten years before his death, when he removed to Mifflinville and lead a retired life. He died in August, 1860, his wife having preceded him about twenty years. To Mr. and Mrs. FETTERMAN six children were born, two of whom are living: Lizzie, wife of William ALLEN, a merchant of Bloomsburg, and Harriet. The deceased are William H., who died at the age of four months; Rachel Alice, died at the age of one year and four months; Charley Miller, died aged six years and five months, and Frances M. died August 12, 1886, aged forty years. Mr. and Mrs. FETTERMAN are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. FETTERMAN is a member of Bloomsburg Lodge, A. F. & A. M. He owns a residence and business properties in Bloomsburg, including part of the Exchange Block, and has about four acres in the eastern part of the city. He also is interested in the company, owning and operating the lime quarries in Centre Township. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 336)

COL. JOHN G. FREEZE, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, is a native of Lycoming County, Penn., born November 4, 1825, a son of James and Frances (GOSSE) FREEZE. The FREEZEs were from New Jersey, and the grandfather, Peter FREEZE, with his wife and family, settled in Northumberland County, a short time after the Revolution, in which conflict he served as a soldier in what was known as the "Jersey Line." He was a farmer, and lived and died at Tuckahoe. His son James was a miller by trade; carried on business for many years, and died at Bloomsburg aged eighty-tow years; his wife died aged about seventy-five years. Both are buried in Rosemont Cemetery. Col. FREEZE obtained his education at the Danville Academy, and by private tutors, thus acquiring a good classical training. He began reading law in 1846 with Joshua W. COMLY, Esq., of Danville: was admitted to the bar April 19, 1848, at Bloomsburg, and has since been in constant practice of his profession. He served as register and recorder of Columbia County from 1863 to 1869, and was a member of the constitutional convention in 1872, but resigned in favor of Hon. C. R. BUCKALEW. Our subject is generally known as Col. FREEZE, a title he acquired through being appointed to Gen. BIGLER's staff, on which he served with rank of lieutenant-colonel. In his practice he has been identified with, or had charge of many celebrated and important cases before the courts of this and surrounding counties, notably "Biggs vs. Doebler," "Longenberger vs. McReynolds," ejectments began in 1863 and continued in one place or another until 1885; was also engaged in the defense of the "Molly Maguire" cases. Commonwealth vs. Patrick Hester and others." Col. FREEZE was married in 1854 to Margaret WALKER of Lancaster County, Penn., a daughter of Robert WALKER of Lancaster. Our subject and wife had a family of five children (all now deceased). They are members of the Episcopal Church; he is a member of the standing committee of the diocese and chancellor of it. He is a member of the Pennsylvania Historical Society; the author of a history of Columbia County, and of a volume of poems, entitled "A Royal Pastoral," a 12mo. volume of upward of 300 pages. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 336)

ANDREW L. FRITZ, attorney at law, Bloomsburg, was born on the old homestead in Sugarloaf Township, Columbia Co., Penn., August 30, 1850. His great-grandfather, Philip FRITZ, lived on Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, and from that city he moved with his family to Columbia County about the year 1797, where he purchased a large tract of land. He was the first school teacher and justice of the peace in the northern part of the county, and was a great scholar and local public character of more than ordinary influence. His father, Jesse FRITZ, present owner of the old homestead, which had been transmitted to him from his grandfather Philip, and his father, Henry, is a farmer, and has been justice of the peace for a number of years, which office he still holds. Our subject obtained an academic education at the Orangeville and New Columbus Academies and the Bloomsburg State Normal School. He began teaching school when about sixteen years of age in his native township; followed that profession for eight years, except part of the time during the summer months he assisted his father on the farm. In 1875 he took up the study of law in the office of Hon. C. R. BUCKALEW, and was admitted to the bar of Columbia County in May, 1878. In November of the same year he was admitted as an attorney at Scranton, Penn., but subsequently decided to make his home in his native county. He was appointed and served as deputy sheriff for three years, and was appointed by the county commissioners and acted as collector of taxes for the town of Bloomsburg in the year 1879, and was tendered the same position in 1880, but refused to accept. He was secretary of the town council of Bloomsburg for nearly three years successively, when he resigned, and was elected a member of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives in 1884, where he served on the judiciary general committee- the most important in the House, and he was also appointed and served on several other committees. Among other good measures, he advocated and made a speech in the House in favor of equalization of taxation. But the bill failed to pass. Mr. FRITZ was renominated in 1886 without opposition, and was elected by a large majority. At this session he is also acting on the judiciary general committee, and is now taking an active part on the floor of the House and in the discussions before the several committees to which he belongs. He was married in 1879 to a daughter of A. J. EVANS of Bloomsburg, and has one child--a son about six years old. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 337)

REV. HENRY FUNK was born near Hagerstown, Md., May 7, 1816. He was baptized in infancy and confirmed in youth as a member of the Reformed Church. At an early period of his life he felt his heart drawn toward the holy ministry, and in order to prepare himself for the holy office, he entered Marshall College at Mercersburg in the eighteenth year of his age. As a student he was diligent and exemplary. He graduated in 1841, and immediately entered the Theological Seminary, in which he took a full course, having spent, altogether, in both institutions nine years. Having finished his studies he became a licentiate and as such supplied Boonesboro charge for the space of six months in the absence of the regular pastor. In the fall of 1844 Mr. FUNK was called as assistant English pastor to Rev. D. S. TOBIAS in the Bloomsburg charge, Columbia County, Penn. December 8, 1844, he was ordained to the holy ministry and installed in his charge at Orangeville by Rev. E. KIEFFER and Rev. H. HARBAUGH, a committee of the Susquehanna Classis. His field was large and laborious, but he served it for a space of ten years with great faithfulness and self-sacrifice. He married a daughter of Daniel SNYDER, a well known and prominent citizen of Bloomsburg. She preceded him to the better world. They had one child which survived its parents--N. U. FUNK, of Bloomsburg. A few years before his death his health began to decline, but he still pursued his calling as best he could. At length a slow consumption had done its work and he "fell asleep in Jesus" April 16, 1855, at the age of thirty-eight years, eleven months and nine days. His remains repose in the graveyard of the Reformed Church at Hagerstown. Mr. FUNK was an earnest, zealous and faithful laborer. He preached very often, and it is said that he arranged one sermon for every day in the month, too much for his body strength. His field had been considerably desolated by distraction and division previous to his entering upon it, and much labor and wisdom were required to cultivate it. He, however, succeeded well, and the heritage over which he presided gradually put on beauty and strength under his ministry and that of his worthy colleague. Much of the fruit of his labors has only ripened since his death, and the hands of his successor have been greatly strengthened by the preparatory work performed by him. His preaching was solemn and solid, and always left a good impression. In his general character and life, Mr. FUNK manifested the most excellent traits of a man and a Christian. He was amiable and modest, gentle and humble, warm and true in his friendships, childlike and sincere in his devotion to God and the church. Though he passed early from earth there are many who cherish pleasant recollections of his beautiful life, and all who know him feel assured that he is safely at home among the "Saints in Light." (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 337)

JOHN ALBERT FUNSTON was born February 9, 1820, in Madison Township, this county, the birthplace also of his father, Thomas A. FUNSTON, a son of John FUNSTON, a native of Northampton County, Penn., whose father, Nicholas FUNSTON emigrated in an early day from the North of Ireland to reside near Easton, Penn. The mother of our subject was Hannah, a daughter of Andrew SCHOOLEY of English origin, who was a native of New Jersey at Schooley Mountain. John FUNSTON settled on and purchased a large tract of land soon after the Revolutionary war, near where Jerseytown has since been built, and there opened one of the first stores in the county, beginning with a limited stock of goods and a limited trade in a very sparsely settled region. By dint of energy, however, the business was successfully continued there and in Jerseytown by himself and sons for many years. John FUNSTON died December 6, 1844, on one of his farms near Jerseytown at the advanced age of ninety-two years, closely identified with the church and after having lived a respected and useful life, having held the office of justice of the peace, and many positions of trust and honor in his locality. His wife, formerly Mary ATEN, died November 22, 1838, aged seventy-five years, the mother of ten children: Henry, who married SCHOOLEY; Nicholas, a bachelor; Rachel, married John RICHARD; Mary, married Jesse BARBER; Sarah, married James CLARK; John, who died young; Caleb, married Rachel SWISHER and James CAMPBELL, married Rachel UPDEGRAPH. The children still living are Sarah CLARK at Catawissa, Penn., who still enjoys life at the advanced age of eighty-six years, and Rachel UPDEGRAPH, the widow of James C. FUNSTON, living at Newberry, Penn. Thomas A. FUNSTON was reared to mercantile pursuits, delivering grain and produce by team to Easton, Reading and Philadelphia, where he purchased goods for the store. After his marriage, however, he devoted himself to farming. He was an influential Democrat, served in many local offices with credit and two terms in the State Legislature, by whose enactments the county seat was removed from Danville to Bloomsburg. After thirty years' agitation Thomas A. FUNSTON died in 1874, aged eighty-three years, and left to survive him his widow, who died in 1879 aged seventy-nine years, both being interred at Jerseytown. They were blessed with ten children: John A., Andrew Schooley, now of Colfax, Wash. Ter., married to Sarah A. EYER; Mary Jane, married to Nehemiah WELLIVER; Martha A., married too Jacob DIEFFENBACH; Sarah, who died when a young lady; Catharine H., of Bloomsburg, widow of Rev Henry WILSON; Elizabeth M., died in early womanhood; Desdemonia W., married William JOHNSTON; Wilbur F. and Susan, who both died young. John Albert FUNSTON was educated at the common schools and at the Mifflinburg Academy, Union Co., Penn., kept by Prof. James McCLURE. He remained at home engaged in his father's interests until twenty-five years of age, teaching school during the winter months. He then took the responsibility of making his own way through life, doing so with remarkably small capital, save industry, perseverance and a determination to succeed by deserving it. On solicitation he accepted, temporarily, a position in the Irondale Company store near Bloomsburg, Penn., in the year 1846; then, after a summer in Pottsville, he took charge of the large store of Judge William H. COOL & Co., in Beaver Meadows, Penn. While there, in August, 1848, a proposition to purchase the store and stock of Richard FRUIT, at Jerseytown, was, after a day's consideration, accepted, Mr. FUNSTON taking charge of the business September 16, 1848. Although supplied with limited capital, watchful care and discreet management soon placed his store and business on a profitable basis that met constantly increasing trade and respect. On account of failing health, in consequence of close application for eight years, the business was disposed of to Conrad KREAMER, Mr. FUNSTON retaining a private interest of one-third, and retiring to spend a few more years in collecting and securing outstanding debts and book accounts. Within the year after the store business was disposed of, Mr. FUNSTON purchased what is known as the Phineas and, afterward, Thomas BARBER homestead, a rich tract of about 200 acres on the east branch of the Chillisquaque Creek, which land he has leased to tenants for thirty years, three of whom realized a sufficient amount to enable them to purchase farms for themselves, one costing over $5,000. This tract was originally taken up by Joseph GALLOWAY of the province of Maryland in 1769, who conveyed to William PATTERSON of Northumberland County, Penn., October 29, 1772, who sold to Robert McCLENAHAN and he to Phineas BARBER, January 10, 1787, 100 years ago, for 50 pounds. Phineas BARBER then sold to Thomas BARBER in 1830, and Thomas BARBER's heirs to John A. FUNSTON in 1857. The tract originally contained 400 acres. Two farms of 100 acres each were sold to James COATS & Bro., both of which were afterward bought by John and Nicholas FUNSTON, referred to above, and now owned and occupied by Jacob COONFER and Jacob WINTERSTEEN. The old log house and part of the barn built 115 years ago, have until very recently been used, and only torn away to make room for the more commodious buildings now (1887) being erected. Mr. FUNSTON then gave some attention to dealing in real estate, and owned several farms and properties in the vicinity of Jerseytown and Bloomsburg, finally selling his store property to William KREAMER in 1865, and his residence in Jerseytown to Dr. Thomas J. SWISHER in 1867. In the same year he removed to Bloomsburg and erected his present dwelling at Fifth and Market Streets, where he has resided since 1868. In the year 1868 attention was directed to the high rate of road and poor taxes for the township of Bloom, Bloomsburg being within this township and being unincorporated; roads and streets in town and township were insufficiently cared for, and under the then existing plan of providing for the poor and collecting and disbursing poor taxes, excessive amounts were required to meet the demands of a list of self-constituted and undeserving paupers, that under the mild and liberal methods then prevailing, preferred to live on the community rather than work. Seeing the demoralizing effects of this high rate of taxation and the accumulating debt, Mr. FUNSTON called upon the Rev. D. J. WALLER, Sr., and after a short interview, a supplement was drawn transferring the act for the Luzerne Poor District to Bloomsburg. The move was approved by leading citizens. The necessary enactment was passed by the Legislature appointing MR. FUNSTON, Mr. B. F. HARTMAN and Dr. J. SCHUYLER directors to buy a farm and establish a home for the poor. The list of over fifty paupers was reduced to sixteen, owing to an unwillingness to accept the new and comfortable home, and the rate of poor taxes reduced from 10 mills to 3 mills. The incorporation of the town of Bloomsburg was similarly effected. In 1868 the fire and life insurance firm of John A. FUNSTON & Co. was instituted, the late Charles CONNER being associated with Mr. FUNSTON. While in this business it was discovered that a banking business could be profitably carried on by the firm. The banking business soon followed and an extensive discount line was reached and prosperously maintained by the firm for some two and a half years without loss. Out of this private banking business grew the present Bloomsburg Banking Company, a flourishing banking institution organized in 1871 with a capital stock of $50,000, taken by fifty stockholders, and of which institution Mr. FUNSTON is now and always has been a director and president. An unusual number of important positions of trust have been filled by Mr. FUNSTON, among others that of county treasurer, to which he was elected as a Democrat by his party in 1860 and into which office his usual tact and ability were carried. He took a very active interest in various improvements of the town of Bloomsburg and county, and has been a member of the board of trustees of the State normal school at Bloomsburg since 1868; is president of the Bloomsburg water-works, Bloomsburg agricultural works and vice-president of the Bloomsburg Steam, Heat and Electric Light Company. He was married January 23, 1850, to Almira MELICK of Light Street, Penn. He has three children: Sara M., married to Paul E. WIRT, attorney at law and inventor of the now widely known Paul E. WIRT fountain pen; Eva Lilien, married to H. O. RODGERS, born and reared at Ironton Iron Works, Ohio, but now of Hazleton, Penn., manager of the Hazleton, Mauch Chunk & Pittston Oil Company; Charles W., remains with his parents and is engaged in the manufacture of agricultural implements etc., in Bloomsburg. The family are members of the Protestant Episcopal Church. We find in the possession of Mr. FUNSTON a number of old papers and memoranda which had been in possession of his grandfather, John FUNSTON, relating to the raising of money to build what was known as Christ's Protestant Episcopal and Lutheran Church, Derry Township, Northumberland Co., Penn., on the road from Jerseytown to Millville; also the subscription papers with the names and amount subscribed by each person in pounds, shillings and pence, together with the original autographs of many of these pioneer church people and including several autographs of the Rev. Caleb HOPKINS, the first minister of the Protestant Episcopal Church in this county, also letters and autographs of Bishop WHITE, the first Protestant Episcopal bishop of the diocese of Pennsylvania, these different papers bearing various dates from 1790 to 1800. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 338)

PETER GROSS, beer bottler, Bloomsburg, was born in Sawarton, Rawnfolz, Bavaria, June 20, 1825, and came to the United States in 1860. He married in Germany, Philopina YOUNG, and had four children born in the fatherland: Jacob, killed in Danville by a railroad accident; David, Margaret and Leanna, and the following named born in the United States: Daniel (deceased), William, Clara, Peter, Elizabeth and John. Mr. GROSS first settled in Danville, and worked in a furnace. In 1871 he came to Bloomsburg and opened a bottling business which he has since successfully conducted. Mr. GROSS is a member of the Catholic Church, Mrs. GROSS of the Lutheran. Politically he is a Democrat, and takes an active interest in the affairs of the county. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 339)

JOHN K. GROTZ, one of the oldest citizens and natives of Bloomsburg now living, was born October 22, 1810, in a frame house which is still standing on the southwest corner of Iron and Second Streets, built by his father, Abraham GROTZ, in 1806. He began to learn the harness-maker's trade in September, 1826, and in 1833 opened a shop at the head of market Street, where he followed his trade. In 1835 he bought the lot which is now occupied by the banking company; erected, the same year, a frame shop, and the next year a dwelling. He carried on business there until 1856, though in 1849 he built the brick structure occupied by the bank. From 1850 he carried on a tannery business in Hemlock Township, retiring in 1870. Mr. GROTZ goes back, with great distinctness, to 1814, and relates the names of people, the number of buildings in Bloomsburg at that time as follows: A log house on First Street, occupied by Henry WEAVER, where Mr. TUSTIN now resides; an old frame house, which is still standing on First Street near West, occupied by George FRY; at the Forks on the east end of Second Street was a one-story log house, owned and occupied by Daniel SNYDER; a house on the southwest corner of Second and Iron Streets, occupied by Abraham GROTZ, still standing; a house occupied by Christopher KAHLER, on the lot east of Central House; a frame one-half story, where HENDERSHOTT's drug store now is, occupied by John CHAMBERLAIN; a log house opposite the southwest corner of Second Street, kept by Philip MEHRRLING, afterward by William McKELVY, Cyrus BARTON and E. H. BIGGS, respectively. The last named tore down the old building and erected the present block: a hotel, frame, two stories, where the Exchange now is; a one-story frame on the southeast corner of Jefferson Alley and Second Street, occupied by Mrs. MOOMEY; a log house on the northeast corner of Centre and Second Streets, owned by Mr. FISHER; a frame two-story hotel on the northwest corner of Second and Centre Streets, occupied as a hotel by John CHAMBERLAIN, the first regular hotel in Bloomsburg. On the north side of Second Street there was no house nearer than where Dr. McKELVY now lives; it was a log house, occupied by John HESS. On East Street below Third was a place called Hopkinsville; an Episcopal minister named HOPKINS owned the land and laid out a number of lots, and thus gave the place its local name. The Episcopal Church, a frame building, stood on the site of the present Episcopal Church parsonage; the church building was moved to the lot in the rear of the store on the southwest corner of Second and Centre Streets, and is now used as a storehouse. The first wagon ship was established by Israel WILLS on the southeast corner of the alley on Market between Second and Third Streets. It was a subscription school, and its first teacher was a Mr. FERGUSON. the town as originally laid out by EYER was from Iron to West Streets. John K. GROTZ was one of the original stockholders and directors of the national bank in Danville. He resigned and became an organizer and director of the First National Bank in Bloomsburg. In 1870 he sold out his interest in the First National Bank, and was one of the organizers of the banking company, of which his son is cashier. Mr. GROTZ has been treasurer of the Bloomsburg poor district for the last seven years. His wife, Elizabeth FISTU, died in 1883. There are three of their children living: H. H., Mary N. and Henry C. Abraham GROTZ was a native of Northampton County, Penn., as by trade and carried on that business on the corner of Iron and Second Streets until 1832. He then moved to Stark County, Ohio, and bought a farm near Uniontown, where he and his wife both died. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 339)

T. L. GUNTON, proprietor of the marble works, Bloomsburg, is a native of Plainsville, Luzerne Co., Penn., born February 18, 1851. Thomas W. GUNTON, father of our subject, moved from Plainsville to Bloomsburg in the spring of 1854, and established a broom factory. Here our subject was reared, and when seventeen years of age he went to Danville, and served four years at the trade of a marble-cutter, with Hon. Peter HUGHES. His present business was established by Anthony WITMAN in the year 1852. His shop was located on Main Street, where HENDERSHOTT's drug store now stands. From this location he removed to the court-house alley, in the rear of the old log building, the present site of the Paul E. WIRT (formerly BROWER's) building. Later on he located at the southwest corner of Main and Market Streets, where he continued until 1868, when he leased the ground and erected a portion of the wooden buildings now owned and occupied by our subject on the same street nearly opposite the last named location, where he continued business until his death in November, 1870. After his death the place was bought by the present proprietor, who began business December 27, 1870. Our subject now manufactures all kinds of monumental work in granite, marble and also granite and marble coping, posts, etc. His shops are fitted with steam power and machinery for polishing the largest pieces of stone or marble. It is the only business of the kind in the place, and Mr. GUNTON does not only a portion of the work of the county, but also of the surrounding country, and has the reputation of doing first-class work and using the best materials. He was married September 23, 1885, to Amanda GUNTON (of no blood relationship), a daughter of Richard GUNTON, of Wilkesbarre, Penn. Mr. GUNTON is a member of the Lutheran Church. He owns a business lot on Main Street, where his shops are located, and a modern and commodious residence on Fourth Street, where he lives. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 340)

HENRY C. HALFPENNY, one of the partners in the Bloomsburg woolen-mills, is a native of Laurelton, Union Co., Penn., born February 24, 1843, a son of H. S. and Julia Ann (BUCK) HALFPENNY. He began his experience in woolen-mills with his uncle, Mark HALFPENNY, in his factory at Laurelton, when but fifteen years old, remaining six years. He then enlisted, February 24, 1864, in Battery F, Second Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery, and served until January, 1866; then returned to Laurelton to his uncle's mill, which was destroyed by fire the same fall. His uncle then moved the business to Lewisburg, Penn., and he remained in his employ until 1870. He left there to take the position of overseer in the carding, spinning and weaving department in Larry's Creek woolen-mill, in Lycoming County. In the above position he remained about two years and then became overseer of the carding and spinning department in the Nippenose Mills, at Antes Fort, Lycoming County, where he continued ten or twelve years: then came to Bloomsburg, on the formation of the present partnership in 1882. Mr. HALFPENNY gives his special attention to overseeing the carding and spinning department, in connection with his other interests attached to the business. He was married October 1, 1866, to Carrie D. DECKARD, of Mifflinburg, Union County. They have one son, Grant D., now assistant foreman in the carding and spinning department of the Bloomsburg mill. The HALFPENNYs are of an old English family, and have been largely identified, through its various branches, in the manufacture of woolen goods. The grandfather of Henry C. HALFPENNY immigrated to the united States previous to 1880, and settled in the neighborhood of Muncy, Penn. four of his children learned their trade as manufacturers of woolen goods with Samuel ROGERS, of Muncy, a very prominent and prosperous manufacturer of that place. The names of these four were Mark, now a prominent manufacturer and one-half owner of the Lewisburg woolen-mills; John (now deceased), who owned and operated a factory at Bells Mills, Blair Co., Penn.; James, formerly a partner with his brother Mark (died in 1885), and William R., who is devoting his latter years to farming. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 340)

BENJAMIN F. HARTMAN, Bloomsburg, was born at Catawissa, January 10, 1812, and is a son of Thomas and Sophia (LEIDENBERG) HARTMAN. He has been a resident of Bloomsburg for fifty-two years, with the exception of four years he spent at farming two miles from that place. He is by trade a blacksmith, but has been engaged in a collection and fire insurance business since 1848. From 1865 to 1869 he acted as deputy United States revenue collector. Mr. HARTMAN was married in 1836 to Abigail Maria PURSEL, who died in 1883 aged seventy years, a daughter of Daniel PURSEL, of an old Columbia County family. Mr. and Mrs. HARTMAN had two children: Henry H., who died aged two years, and Celestia, who married O. T. WILSON (she was born February 7, 1838, died in June, 1881, and is buried in Rosemont Cemetery; she left five children: Lilly H., Frank H., Arthur N. (killed in a mill in June, 1886), Harry S. and Charles P.) Mr. HARTMAN is a member of the Episcopal Church; has been secretary, treasurer and warden for twenty five years. In politics he is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 341)

HENRY C. HARTMAN, merchant, Bloomsburg, was born September 18, 1822, in Catawissa, Columbia County. The HARTMAN family of Bloomsburg is descended from Nicholas and Isabella HARTMAN, of Baden-Baden, Germany. Their son, William, at the age of twelve or thirteen came to America September 14, 1753, locating temporarily at Bristol, Bucks Co., Penn., and paid for his passage to this country after his arrival. He was a tanner by trade, and later settled half-way between Bloomsburg and Berwick previous too the massacre of Wyoming. One day on his return from the mill he found his cabin in ruins, having been set on fire by the Indians. His wife had discovered the presence of the savages in time to escape with her infant child, and was overtaken by her husband while on her way to Catawissa. there they afterward settled. He was a man of very genial nature, kind to the poor, and a pioneer known far and wide as one of good repute. He and his pioneer wife are both buried in the old Quaker graveyard at Catawissa. Here he was probably married, his wife's maiden name being Frances REAMY. He owned about 300 acres of land, which with the aid of his children he cleared up; he died aged about eighty-three years. He and his wife were Lutherans, parents of twelve children, of whom Thomas was the father of Henry C., the subject of this sketch. Thomas married Sophia LADENBERG. He was a nail-maker by trade, but during the greater part of his life was a farmer in Montour Township, this county. He was an old line Whig in politics, and attended the Methodist Church. His children were as follows: Charles, Benjamin F., Jane, Wellington, William, Daniel, Henry C. and Isaiah W. Henry C., a grandson of the first settler, was reared on the farm, and when young learned the chairmaking and painting trades, after completing which he served two months as a journeyman. He then began clerking for J. K. SHARPLESS at Catawissa, and October 10, 1848, opened a general store with his brother, I. W., which partnership continued twenty-one years. April 23, 1874, our subject opened his present store, in which he keeps a full line of carpets, oil cloths, etc. August 8, 1862, he was mustered in Company E, One Hundred and Thirty-Second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, for nine months, and served ten. He married in 1852 Martha F. McCLURE, a member of the Presbyterian Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 341)

I. W. HARTMAN, merchant, Bloomsburg, was born two miles east of Catawissa, this county, October 20, 1825, a son of Thomas HARTMAN, a farmer of that locality. He was reared to the life of a farmer near Bloomsburg, and (his father having moved to Hemlock Township) was educated at the schools of the neighborhood until sixteen or seventeen years of age. He then attended the Catawissa school taught by Mr. J. J. BROWER one session, and on leaving there, in August, 1843, engaged as a clerk with EYER & HEFFLY, of Bloomsburg, in the building that Mr. HARTMAN now occupies. Five years later he formed a partnership with his brother, H. C. HARTMAN, and opened a general store in the old Arcade Building, continuing there until 1855. During that time they bought the building where our subject had been employed as clerk, and there they carried on a general business under the firm name of H. C. & I. W. HARTMAN, until January 1, 1869. In that year our subject bought his brother's interest, and conducted the enterprise alone until August, 1882. He then took in his son, Edwin V., as a partner, and the firm is known as I. W. HARTMAN & Son. This business, as will be seen, was established in 1848. the sales that year amounted to $12,000, and for many years averaged $30,000 and upward per annum. Mr. HARTMAN has been longer in continuous business as a merchant than any other man in Bloomsburg. He is a Republican and has served his vicinity in several offices in the council; as school director; was superintendent and treasurer of Rosemont Cemetery twenty-five years. He and family are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church of which he has been class-leader, steward for twenty-seven years and trustee for many years. He married, February 26, 1850, Mary Melinda RITTER, of Bloomsburg, and they have had six children, four of whom are living: Anna I., Edwin V., Ada M. and Robert E. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Bloomsburg, pg. 342)

Back to

COLUMBIA COUNTY BIOS

MONTOUR COUNTY BIOS

SOME OTHER BIOGRAPHIES

HISTORY OF COLUMBIA COUNTY

HISTORY OF MONTOUR COUNTY

 
 

 
MY FILE CABINET
FAMILY LINES
JOWEST